Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maryland History Day 2022: General Sources

Introduction to General Sources

The Nabb Center has many digital sources to support researchers while they explore the history of the Delmarva peninsula, Salisbury University, and more. These two columns on the left include descriptions and links to Nabb Center sources that can be found online and provide descriptions during research. If you find something that isn't available online that you would like to see, please contact Nabb Center staff to arrange for selected digitization. 

The column on the right includes links to good digital collections from other institutions, which should be used in conjunction with the inquiry kits.

Historical Newspapers

SOAR@SU is home to the Nabb Center's unique collection of digitized regional newspapers from 1745 through 1922, as well as Salisbury University student newspapers from 1926 to 1973.

Photos and Film

With over 8,000 photographs in 17 different albums, the Nabb Center's Flickr collection brings to life the history of the Delmarva peninsula, Salisbury University, and more. Additionally, historic film and video can be found on the Nabb Center's YouTube page.

Online Exhibits

Digital exhibitions presenting the history of the Eastern Shore, Salisbury University, and more through an Omeka platform.

Manuscripts, Transcriptions, and Oral Histories

The Nabb Center's digital collections on Internet Archive include hundreds of yearbooks, transcribed sources, audio recordings, digitized manuscripts, and more. Additionally, there are many Salisbury University sources in SOAR@SU.

Archives and Artifacts

Information about the archival collections at the Nabb Center--including the Local History Archives, University Archives, and Special Collections--can be searched, browsed, and requested through the Finding Aid Portal. Information about and photograph of the Nabb Center's artifact collections can be found in our Past Perfect Online page. Use these tools to discover connections within our collections and add to primary sources supporting your research.