Campus Resources
- LGBTQ+ AllianceThe LGBTQ+ Alliance is a student run organization made up of members of the LGBTQ+ community and their allies.
In 2022 and 2023, the LGBTQ+ Alliance partnered with SU Libraries and Housing & Residence Life to hold a clothing drive and Walk-In Closet in observance of Transgender Awareness month. While the 2-day event was open and welcoming to all, its primary purpose was to provide free gender-affirming clothing to those in need. The flyers for both events are below. The SU Libraries hopes to partner again soon with the Alliance on another Walk-In Closet event.
- LGBTQ+ Resources for Salisbury University StudentsThis document from the SU Counseling Center offers information about support groups, health care, and legal assistance available to help students navigate their individual journeys.
- SU Campus All-Gender RestroomsLocations of the 18 all-gender restrooms throughout our campus.
- Lambda SocietyLambda Society is open to the SU queer community of faculty, staff, graduate students, and their allies. To join the listserv, email Dr. Diana Wagner, Angela Freeman, or Megan Raymond.
Databases
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowLGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts I and II This link opens in a new windowThis primary source database consists of two parts:
Part I brings together primary source content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
Part II highlights marginalized groups—even within the LGBTQ community—and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism through access to key publications.
Resources for Ally Support
Teaching, Affirming, and Recognizing Trans and Gender Creative Youth by Call Number: LC2574 .T43 2016ISBN: 9781137567659Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Supporting Transgender and Non-Binary Students and Staff in Further and Higher Education by
According to the research underpinning this book, 85% trans students and staff faced barriers. This practical guide enables post-secondary education professionals to create a safe and supportive environment for gender diverse applicants, students and staff. Using real life examples to explore common experiences and challenges for trans people in further and higher educational settings, it sets out policies, interventions and advice that have proven effective in providing impactful support on a wide range of issues such as learning, teaching, mental health, recruitment, support services, and institutional policies. Included is an easy-to-follow introduction to transgender terminology and identities, as well as legal and medical considerations" -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: LC2574.6 .L39 2019ISBN: 9781785923456Publication Date: 2019-01-21
Here's How to Teach Feminine Voice and Communication Skills to Transgender Women by
Here's How to Teach Voice and Communication Skills to Transgender Women is a detailed guide to help speech-language pathologists (SLPs) provide instruction for male-to-female (MtF) transgender women during their transition process. This program guides SLPs to safely modify a MtF transgender woman's voice through behavioral modification therapy. SLPs can teach this population how to modify their voice through good vocal hygiene, vocal relaxation, breath support, pitch, resonance, breathiness, and verbal and nonverbal communication exercises.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1635500664Publication Date: 2018-09-15
A Guide to Transgender Health: State-Of-the-art Information for Gender-Affirming People and Their Supporters by
"The number of people presenting at gender clinics worldwide for assistance has increased exponentially in the last decade. Transgender people also have become much more prominent in the media. An increase in political populism, however, has brought unprecedented attacks on trans* people. Covering a wealth of topics relevant to transgender people and their supporters, both social and professional, Heath and Wynne help readers to see through the flawed arguments of those who wish to inflict damage on the trans* community. The content of this book ranges from theoretical ideas about the origin of gender diversity to practical solutions for trans* people to enjoy life in their chosen gender. Physical health topics include hormone therapy, puberty blockers, breast augmentation/reduction, gender confirmation surgery, and speech therapy. Mental health topics include dealing with discrimination, bullying, and transphobia. The text is presented so that it can be understood with no scientific background, but is also highly relevant to the health professional"--Publisher's description.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440863097Publication Date: 2019-06-24
Improving Services for Transgender and Gender Variant Youth by
A research-based best practice guide for professionals that work with trans and gender variant youth. Acting as a reference for practitioners, students and researchers, this book covers four key areas - mental, physical, sexual and social health - providing essential info and outlining professionals' roles under these headings."This expert guide to working with transgender and gender variant youth offers ways to make positive change to service provision for practitioners working with this group. Based on the latest research, the book offers practical recommendations which are supported by first-hand stories and experiences. Exploring four key areas -- mental health, physical health, sexual health and social health -- the book sets out exactly what professionals need to know in relation to these areas and shows how to support trans youth in these circumstances. Providing clarity on a range of topics, this is the perfect overview for practitioners, as well as a useful text for students and researchers"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784507893Publication Date: 2019-01-21
Supporting Transgender Autistic Youth and Adults by
Providing advice on how professionals working with autistic trans youth and adults can tailor their practice to best serve their clients and how parents can support their trans autistic children, this book increases awareness of the large overlap between trans identities and autism. By including chapters on gender diversity basics, neuroqueer trauma and how to support neuroqueer individuals, this book sets out strategies for creating more effective support that takes into account the unique experiences of trans people on the spectrum. Written by a therapist who identifies as neuroqueer, this book is the perfect companion for professionals who want to increase their knowledge of the experiences and needs of their trans autistic clients.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784508302Publication Date: 2019-10-21
Supporting Trans People in Libraries by Call Number: Z711.92.T73 K74 2019ISBN: 9781440867064Publication Date: 2019-10-16- Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide byCall Number: RA564.9.T73 T738 2022ISBN: 9781260459937Publication Date: 2021-10-08
The Medical Professional's Guide to LGBT+ Inclusion : Creating a Workplace Culture That Nurtures a Welcoming, Inclusive, and Affirming Environment by ISBN: 1003167306Publication Date: 2023
- Trans Toolkit for Employers When people go through a gender transition while on-the-job, the whole work team transitions with them. Watch and listen to transgender employees and professionals bring the issues to life as they talk about making workplaces more transgender inclusive. The HRC Foundation’s "Transgender Inclusion in the Workplace: A Toolkit for Employers" provides practical guidance in creating a more inclusive workplace for transgender and gender non-conforming employees.
