Gender-Affirming Care
Gender-affirming care is life-saving healthcare for transgender, non-binary, and gender-creative people of all ages. It includes a range of services, including mental health care, medical care, and social services. Gender affirming care is always delivered in age-appropriate, evidence-based ways, and decisions to provide care are made in consultation with doctors and parents. Every major medical and mental health organization recognizes that it is medically necessary to support people in affirming their gender identity.
Laws Protecting Gender-Affirming Care in Maryland
Two Maryland laws enacted in 2024 protect and expand access to gender affirming care.
The Trans Shield Act adds certain gender-affirming treatments to the state’s definition of legally protected health care. It protects residents, patients, and medical providers from the legal action of other states where similar treatments might be illegal.
The Trans Health Equity Act expands access to gender affirming care to Medicaid recipients, ensuring they can obtain the following services:
- Hormone therapy and lab testing
- Voice surgery, therapy and lessons
- Hair removal and transplants
- Fertility preservation services
- Facial surgery
- Top surgery
- Gender affirming surgery
- Preventative care after transition
- Revision or reversal of prior gender-affirming procedures
Resources for Allies
- Affirming Your Loved One's Gender Exploration and IdentityThis page from Mental Health America provides information to help allies support the mental well-being of their loved ones.
- Everything You Need to Know About Gender-Affirming CareThis article from The 19th provides helpful answers to common questions about what gender-affirming care includes (and does not include) and how allies can support loved ones.
- How Body Positivity Can Exclude Trans PeopleThis article helps allies follow a loved one’s lead in talking about or not talking about someone’s body.
Gender-Affirming Healthcare Providers
- Chase Brexton Healthcare - EastonChase Brexton provides healthcare to LGBTQ+ populations, including
transgender healthcare. Their Center for LGBTQ Health Equity
provides LGBTQ-informed care, advocacy, and training and education. - Planned Parenthood - EastonPlanned Parenthood provides healthcare for LGBTQ+ people, including hormone therapy. Services include hormone replacement
therapy and services referral. Telehealth appointments are available. - Mazzoni Center - PhiladelphiaThe Mazzoni Center provides quality comprehensive health and wellness services in an LGBTQ-focused environment. Services include primary medical care, hormone therapy and monitoring, chest and cervical health care, gender affirmation surgery navigation, and supportive letters for current medical patients.
- CAMP Rehoboth Community Center LGBTQ Health Care Provider DirectoryThe directory offers a list of doctors and other health professionals who welcome LGBTQ+ individuals as clients and who come recommended by members of the CAMP Rehoboth community as providers of high quality health services. The directory lists names, contact information, and medical specialties for both Western medicine and alternative medical services.
Books
The care we dream of : liberatory & transformative approaches to LGBTQ+ health by ISBN: 9781551528618Publication Date: 2021- Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide byCall Number: RA564.9.T73 T738 2022ISBN: 9781260459937Publication Date: 2021-10-08
