Go directly to a specific box by clicking on the links below.
Assignment Requirements ♦ Sociological Sources ♦ Data Sources ♦ Semi Scholarly Sources ♦ A-Z Database List ♦ Additional Resources ♦ Citation Linker ♦ Search by Journal ♦ Keywords ♦ Concept Mapping
Assignment Requirements
Minimum Source Requirements
- 2 new data sources (at least one of which is a map, graph, chart, image used as a slide in the Power Point presentation)
- 2 new semi-scholarly sources -- published in the last 2 years
- 2 new sociological sources -- published in the last 10 years
Deadlines
- Part 1, Team Reference List: due May 8, 2023
- Part 2, PowerPoint Presentation and Notes: Due May 15, 2023
- Part 3, Team Presentation: May 18, 2023
News
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
- The Guardian - International Edition
The Guardian provides free access to their US, UK, Australian, and International Editions of their newspaper. You can toggle through the various editions in the top right corner. - Al Jazeera
Commercial news, Qatar-based. This link goes to their "World News" section.
Sociological Sources
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis full-text research database covers sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
Citation Linker
- Citation LinkerUse this to locate specific articles that you find via Cited Reference searching.
Keyword Exercise
Use keywords to find topic arguments in research tools.
Proverb: Too many cooks spoil the broth.
What it really means: A lot of people trying to do the something their way can make things difficult.
Keywords: group size AND communication
Fill out the keyword sheet below to explore wording that is used to describe your own topic.
Data Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
- United Nations Datasets
Scroll to the bottom of the page for Statistical Data sources. - OECD Data
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Their mission, "is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world."
Additional Resources
- Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research." - Dr. McEntee's Suggested Semi-Scholarly Resources
Dr. McEntee's website listing many potential resources for semi-scholarly needs (television, radio, news, sociology blogs, and reporting agencies. - Journals Published by the ASAList of journals published by the American Sociological Association. For any that we have access to, you could try searching these journals directly.
