Library Guides: GEOG 325: Conservation and Resource Management: Find News

Evaluating News

News includes many formats, including newspaper articles, investigative journalism, magazines, trade publications (news for a specific field, such as higher education or chemical engineering), broadcast journalism, and online news websites. How can you tell if you're looking at a quality news source?

The publisher or news organization should be easy to spot
Google the news organization - they should have a website, Wikipedia page, and be referenced in other sources
Pay careful attention to the date
More reliable news sources list an individual author - you should be able to find their credentials and journalistic history
More reliable news sources list sources and accurately represent the claims in those sources
Google a few things about the article or click around on the news website

Below, you'll find some news publications the SU Libraries subscribe to. These are great places to start.

Interactive Media Bias Chart
Consider using the interactive Media Bias Chart to learn more about the biases and quality of general news organizations. The 11th edition static version of the chart can also be found at the bottom of this page for quick reference.

Find News, Magazines, and Popular Presses

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
BuildingGreen brings together articles from environmental building news, products from GreenSpec Directory, and project case studies from High-Performance Buildings Database.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
News, opinions, jobs, advice, and more
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.