Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Before you leave today, you should have:
- Several journal articles on your chosen environmental issue
- 1 image (icon, photo, etc) of your chosen image related to your project or environmental problem. Use the Find Images tab above.
- RefWorks account
Your 5 journal articles can be imported directly into RefWorks. Look for a Cite or Export option for each journal article. You can also copy and paste the title into Google Scholar and use their Cite option.
Your image information can be put into RefWorks by hitting the “+” button at the top of the RefWorks page and selecting “Create New Reference”. Once the blank record comes up, choose ‘artwork’ as your Ref Type. Contact me if you need help with RefWorks, your topic, or finding info for your project!
Use the library databases (also called search engines) below to look up information on your chosen environmental issue and get a good sense of its history and possible solutions. Most of the resources in these databases are scientific journal articles, but you may also find other types of sources such as video, newspapers, or magazines.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers unprecedented access to a collection of journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Coverage spans the sciences, humanities, medicine, social sciences, and so much more.
Environmental Health Perspectives This link opens in a new window
Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of environmental health research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Need an Article We Don't Have?
Need to get an article that we don't have at SU? Order it for free through Interlibrary Loan!
, Computer Science
, Earth Science
, GIS Management
, Integrated Science
, Urban & Regional Planning