Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Exercise Science: Find Articles

How can I access databases?

Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and you can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus, you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).

Databases for EXSC Majors

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a good starting point for your research. It searches across many disciplines and sources. Link your Google Scholar to your library account to ensure access to articles that may otherwise be behind a paywall. Follow these instructions and the screenshot below:

  1. Click on the three bars in the top left corner to access your Google Scholar menu.
  2. Click on "Settings."
  3. Navigate to "Library links" in your list of settings. 
  4. Type in Salisbury University and check the boxes that come up.
  5. Click save. Your Google Scholar is now linked to Salisbury University's library resources. 

Getting Full Text

Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.

If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.

If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). 

Citation Linker

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals