Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This semester, knowing your way around our electronic search engine/databases to find journal articles is going to be particularly important! The tutorial linked below walks you through the steps needed to search for quality journal articles in our library databases. As you work your way though the tutorial, you will be searching *in real time* for journal articles on your own ENVR 300 research topic in both the Academic Search Ultimate and JSTOR databases.
Completing this tutorial will earn you a Certificate of Completion - all of which will be sent to Emily for virtual collection!
In the research process: ARTICLES
This guide should help you:
Form an approach to initiating an assignment.
Identify the use of information sources based on the type of information (i.e. books for background)
Use keywords from a research question or statement to search.
Distinguish differences between popular and scholarly articles.
Explore topics for your paper or project. What motivates you?
Explore the library's information resources.
Start to gather information for an assignment.
Draft & revise with help from librarians & departments in the GAC
Library Search Engines
While Google Scholar is not listed below, it is still an important resource in your literature search! Look to the Google Scholar tab to find out why, and how to best use it!
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.
ASFA Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
This database is now a part of the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science collection.
It provides abstracts and indexing, as well as full-text, from scholarly journals, trade and industry publications, technical reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
BuildingGreen brings together articles from environmental building news, products from GreenSpec Directory, and project case studies from High-Performance Buildings Database.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text database which publishes a wide range of scholarship including working papers from research institutes, occasional paper series from NGOS, policy briefs, case studies, conference proceedings and papers, course packs, book chapters and journal articles.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete, CMCC, incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 326 journals.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Historical Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1985. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2023.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper, the New York Times Book Review, and the New York Times Magazine.
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorololgy and geology plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Includes: bibliography, monographs, computer files, conferences, dissertations, film, journals, law, maps, numerical data, patent, reports, reviews, training manuals.
Plant Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals
Using the CRAAP Method to Evaluate Information
Open this image in a new tab to see a bigger version.