Library Guides: ELI 77: Find Articles

ARTICLES

Form an approach to research your topic:

Identify the use of information sources based on the type of information (i.e. books for background / journal articles for scholarly conversations)

Understand how to properly use keywords from a research question or statement to search.

Distinguish differences between popular and scholarly articles.

Explore the library's information resources.

Search Engines / Databases

If you want to search for journal articles on specific things, this is your place to start!

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Agricola (NAL) This link opens in a new window
This database is now a part of the Agricultural & Environmental Science database collection. It includes citations to journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics. Other databases in the collection include full-text articles.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection this resource includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts, and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts databases, with full-text titles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Health Source: Nursing Academic This link opens in a new window
Nearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A user-friendly, multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support, helping students connect theory to practice. Nursing & Allied Health Premium delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.