Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tutorial on Finding Primary Articles
Tutorial: Find Primary Articles in ScienceDirect
This tutorial walks you through the steps involved in finding primary journal articles in our ScienceDirect database.
In the example shown in the tutorial, I use the compound Vitamin E - which is an oil-soluble compound.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text archives of selected medical journals. Some publishers do not permit full-text access to recent/current issues, though most full-text is available within one year.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
A user-friendly, multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support, helping students connect theory to practice. Nursing & Allied Health Premium delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
This is a complete collection of BioOne_1 and BioOne_2 full-text journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
, Computer Science
, Earth Science
, GIS Management
, Integrated Science
, Urban & Regional Planning