+Multi-subject Databases
There are many, many different search engines that SU Libraries has a paid subscription with that are great places for you to search. However, given the focus of this assignment, the search engines (aka 'databases') below are the best places for you to start with.
One of the better thing about the search engines that we subscribe to is that they have lots of advanced capabilities, like filtering your search results to *only* show you primary, peer-reviewed journal articles as results. These filtering options are frequently shown on the left side of your search results screen - look for clickable descriptions such as 'research article' or 'scientific article' as clues that you are on the right track!
- Biological Science This link opens in a new windowPart of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowElectronic journals in the biological and medical sciences.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- Health Source: Nursing Academic This link opens in a new windowNearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA user-friendly, multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support, helping students connect theory to practice. Nursing & Allied Health Premium delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.