Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
Local news for Maryland, Virginia, and Delaware. Part of the USA Today Network.
Use keywords to find topic arguments in research tools.
Topic statement: "How does violence in video games affect kids?"
Keywords: violence video games kids
Academic language (and therefore an academic database) isn't always what we might expect it to be. Use the method modeled in the worksheet below to develop alternate keywords for each of the ones you have pulled out of your own research topic. They can be synonyms, broader terms, or more narrow terms.
For example: video games might generate a list like:
- computer games
- first person shooter
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2021.
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO)
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This full-text research database covers sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.
Article Databases: an A-Z List
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Census Data Tools
Tons of different tools involving data the Census Bureau has collected. Quick Facts and AmericanFactFinder are good ones for statistics from American Community Surveys.
"Based at Harvard University, our team of researchers and policy analysts work together to analyze new data and create a platform for local stakeholders to make more informed decisions." This link goes directly to their sharable data.
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."
Selecting an Organization