Recommended Databases
To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SU username and password:
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedias and Handbooks are great sources for terminology in the field. Many of the listed titles are online ebooks.
Recommended Guides
Search for Books/eBooks Only
Googles Books Search
Google Books searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text, and stored in its digital library database. Many items are completely full text, while some are partly full text to adhere to Copyright restrictions.
ABOUT GOOGLE BOOKS
Selected New Books
Doing Research Within Communities by Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 1138852678Publication Date: 2016-04-22
Navigating Languages, Literacies and Identities by Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9781138824249Publication Date: 2016-06-15
Values and Virtues in Higher Education Research by Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 1138916811Publication Date: 2016-06-29
Rewriting the Basics by Call Number: LB1576 .D974 2013ISBN: 9780807754566Publication Date: 2013-08-04
Reading Don't Fix No Chevys by Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9780867095098Publication Date: 2002-03-12
A Search Past Silence by Call Number: LC2731 .K57 2013ISBN: 9780807754078Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Vygotsky and Literacy Research by Call Number: LC149 .S55 2011ISBN: 9789460916946Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Language Stories and Literacy Lessons by Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 0435082116Publication Date: 1984-08-21
Direct Borrowing
- Direct BorrowingYou may borrow books directly from any of the 16 sister libraries in the University System of Maryland by placing your request through the online catalog. Most items arriving in 3-5 days and are totally FREE! Check out the handout above to find out how.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered to patrons who are unable to find certain books or articles through SU Libraries or other USMAI Libraries. Library staff may be able to request these items if they are owned by libraries across the United States.