Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Book Databases
To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SU username and password:
EBSCO eBook Collection
SU has a collection of over 2,700 ebooks on the subject of Education that you may view HERE.
Discovering Children's Book (DCB) - The British Library
Discovering Children’s Books explores the history and rich variety of children’s literature, drawing on inspiring material from medieval fables to contemporary picture books.
The site is aimed at primary school children, teachers and lifelong learners and features thoughtful drafts, scribbled notebooks, sketchbooks, story boards and dummy books, revealing the creative processes behind some of the best-loved children’s literature.
Discovering Children’s Books also provides access to some of the earliest printed works created for a young readership and an array of movable, miniature, noisy and toy books, propaganda stories, comics, poems and fairy tales.
The project unites children’s literature collections from four major cultural institutions: the British Library, Seven Stories The National Centre for Children's Books, Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford and the V&A.
Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature
130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. Contains 6,000+ fully digitized books.
International Children's Digital Library
The mission of the ICDL is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge. The Foundation pursues its vision by building a digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world and supporting communities of children and adults in exploring and using this literature through innovative technology designed in close partnership with children for children.
Google Books Search
Google Books searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text, and stored in its digital library database. Many items are completely full text, while some are partly full text to adhere to Copyright restrictions.
ABOUT GOOGLE BOOKS