Article Search Engines - Online and Freely Available
While the library pays for many scholarly peer-reviewed article databases, there are also other free databases on the open web that can help you find quality scientific articles. If you ever have a question about evaluating sources, determining what type of source you're looking at, or locating the full text of an article, contact me for more help.
- MedRX ivThis website allows researchers to upload their science articles before they're published in an official journal. The articles may not yet be peer-reviewed and will likely undergo revisions, but they can be a good source of information.
- PLOSOpen Access journal articles in the sciences. Scroll down to PLOS Journals and select the journal you want to search in.
- CORECORE is the world’s largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals. Many full-text PDFs are available online, but you can also request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
- BMC"A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals." Most articles have a full-text PDF available.
- PubAgFree online database from the National Library of Agriculture. Includes some full-text coverage, but most entries are citation-only. Request citation-only articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Science News and Magazines
- ScienceQuality science news articles from trusted journalists and contributing editors, many of whom are working scientists and professors.
Professional Organizations
- American Association for the Advancement of SciencePublishes Science magazines. Also promotes science advocacy, science-based practices, and career resources for STEM employees.
- American Chemical SocietyMeetings, conferences, educational resources, and job assistance for chemists and chemistry professionals.
- American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyResources for advocacy, education, and career assistance. One of the largest professional organizations in the biological sciences.
- Ecological Society of AmericaProvides trainings, webinars, ecology education, and a job board for current and future ecologists.
Job Boards
- Science CareersFrom AAAS.
- USA JobsJobs from the federal government and its various agencies, including the USDA, EPA, National Park Service, and National Institute of Health.
