Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles will contain recent, current information. They are shorter than book chapters and typically focus on one or very few objects of study. Articles are most helpful to provide examples of your object of study (like a case study) or for an analysis of your object of study. The timeliness of the article depends on the discipline:
- Articles in the sciences (medicine, public health): five years or less
- Articles in the social sciences (psychology, political science): ten years or less
- Articles in the humanities (literature, art history): publication date is less important, so may depend on what your project requires
Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals
Below is a small sampling of databases that may prove useful in finding articles for your research project. If you are incorporating a discipline that is not covered by the following databases, visit the subject guide for that specific discipline (such as economics or psychology) and explore which databases are recommended.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete, CMCC, incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 326 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2023.
APA PsycInfo (formerly:PsycINFO) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.