Welcome to the HIST 330 Library Guide
This research guide provides research resources to be used for the final project required by HIST 330. If you have questions about your research, please email me via the link to the right, under my photo. You may also schedule an appointment with me via my Calendly link.
Conducting Primary Research
Databases listed below can be used to identify a primary source. A more comprehensive list of primary source databases can be found on the SU Libraries A to Z Databases page for History resources.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries.
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowArchives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of college & university scholars & students.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- American Historical Periodicals (American Antiquarian Society). This link opens in a new windowThe collection offers a highly comprehensive documentary history of the American experience spanning four centuries, with multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America. The database presents primary source materials on a variety of disciplines including agriculture, business, history, literature, women's studies, fashion and music.
Identifying Objects of Study
- Topics to KeywordsThis worksheet provides a space to brainstorm your topic, as well as discover keywords that will be helpful to search.
