Librarian
Newspapers & Magazines
If you find yourself up against a paywall, try finding articles in our databases. If you're not sure where to start, this is a great time to contact me. We want to get you access to whatever source you need!
-
Washington Post This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
-
Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper 1990-present.
-
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present.
-
New YorkerDiscusses current events and ideas, combining domestic and international news analysis with cartoons, sports, fashion & arts, profiles, short fiction and poetry.
-
TIME MagazineNational and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
-
Scientific AmericanFeatures science and the citizen, computer reactions, the amateur scientists, reviews of current books in science and bibliographies.
Online Resources
-
American Veterinary Medical Association Resources for Pet OwnersThe AVMA is a not-for-profit association representing over 85,000 veterinarians in many different settings. The Public Resources section contains information on pet care, selecting a veterinarian, and what to do in an emergency.
-
Center for the Human-Animal BondThe Center for the Human-Animal Bond was established at Purdue University to study the relationships between humans and animals and to communicate findings to scientists and the public.
-
Research Center for Human-Animal Interaction (ReCHAI)ReCHAI operates as a dynamic collaboration between the University of Missouri Sinclair School of Nursing and College of Veterinary Medicine with a mission of education and conducting programs and studies about the benefits of human-animal interaction.
-
Human Animal Bond Research Initiative (HABRI) FoundationHABRI is a non-profit research and education organization that is gathering, funding, and sharing the scientific research to demonstrate the positive health impacts of companion animals on people.
-
International Association of Human-Animal Interaction (IAHAIO)The IAHAIO was founded to gather together national associations and related organizations interested in advancing the understanding and appreciation of the link between animals and humans.
-
United States Animal Health Association (USAHA)The USAHA is the nation's animal health forum and is a science-based, non-profit, voluntary organization.
-
American Kennel ClubThe American Kennel Club (AKC) is the most well-known and authoritative dog registry in the world. On the AKC website you can find information not only about different breeds of dogs, but also about dog health, nutrition, training, grooming, and care; upcoming dog shows and events; and pending legislation related to dogs.
-
Veterinary Information Network Veterinary PartnerVIN, founded in 1991, provides veterinary professionals with information to use in their practice. They created their public companion site, Veterinary Partner, as an educational resources for pet owners, and it is one of the oldest pet health sites. The site contains a wealth of information about cats, dogs, reptiles, horses, and small mammals.
-
Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM)Part of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the CVM regulates animal drugs, animal feed (including pet food), and veterinary devices.