Filter Results to Peer-Reviewed!
Did you know in many databases as well as SURF you can filter the results to your search by many areas, including articles that have been peer-reviewed? This can be a great way to limit the results you find when you need to look for exclusively academic sources.
Just be sure you have the box checked for peer-reviewed articles!
Databases for Environmental Studies
These are a list of databases that may be useful to you and your research. You can find all of SU's databases on the By Subject and A-Z List.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science This link opens in a new windowContains journals, trade publications, technical reports, and conference proceedings on cross-disciplinary agriculture and environmental sciences research.
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndexes series of comprehensive critical reviews from scientists for focused disciplines such as Biomedical/Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences. Our holdings consist of archival content for 35 titles.
-
Biological Science This link opens in a new windowContains over 6000 scholarly journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and and selected books and patents in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and plant and animal science.
-
BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowIs an open access platform publishing peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biomedicine, life sciences, and biology.
-
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new windowBuildingGreen brings together articles from environmental building news, products from GreenSpec Directory, and project case studies from High-Performance Buildings Database.
-
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science This link opens in a new windowPart of the Natural Science Collection this resource includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts, and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts databases, with full-text titles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and more.
-
Environmental Health Perspectives This link opens in a new windowIs a monthly journal of environmental health research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowProvides resources on a variety such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology as they relate to environmental science and studies.
-
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
-
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new windowWorldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorololgy and geology plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Includes: bibliography, monographs, computer files, conferences, dissertations, film, journals, law, maps, numerical data, patent, reports, reviews, training manuals.
-
TOXLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers areas of toxicology including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens & teratogens with resources like citations, journals, books, reports, letters, meetings, and proceedings.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. It also provides cited reference searching.
Newspapers are good sources for thing like public opinion and popular culture.
But remember - if you are tasked to find scholarly/peer-reviewed sources, this is not where you should look!
-
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for public libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals back to 1975, provides nearly 500 full text reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and a 592,000 photo Image Collection.