Library Guides: Environmental Studies: Data

Library Data Resources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the 5 volume Millennial edition, 2006. Provides data in electronic format useful for statistical analysis.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
The official source of U.S. merchandise trade data which offers current and historical U.S. import and export statistics.

Data Repositories

Climate Change Knowledge Portal
The Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP) provides global data on historical and future climate, vulnerabilities, and impacts.
EDI Data Portal
The EDI Data Portal contains environmental and ecological data packages contributed by a number of participating organizations.
figshare
A commercial digital repository for sharing and preserving figures, datasets, images, and videos.
Freshwater Biodiversity Data Portal
The aim of this data portal, which was established in the framework of the BioFresh project, and further developed under the Freshwater Information Platform (FIP), is to enable freshwater biodiversity data publishing and to increase the visibility of such data.
GBIF (Global Biodiversity Information Facility)
GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
MGDS (Marine Geoscience Data System)
The Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS) is a trusted data repository that provides free public access to a curated collection of marine geophysical data products and complementary data related to understanding the formation and evolution of the seafloor and sub-seafloor.
Pangaea
The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. PANGAEA is open to any project, institution, or individual scientist to use or to archive and publish data.
Zenodo
Zenodo allows researchers from around the world to deposit their data and other items in their repository.