Library Guides: Economics & Finance: Databases

Access SU Libraries Databases

Tips for Searching Databases

Use keywords.

Combine keywords with boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).

If your research involves a company, search by the ticker symbol of that company, if available.

If you are doing industry research, search by industry code when possible.

Not sure where to start? Here are some databases organized by research need...

These databases are a great place to start as they cover a wide range of business-related topics. They provide access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles as well as some non-journal content (company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, country reports, etc.).

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1,000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications. ABI/Inform also provides case studies, industry reports, and market reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources: (1) Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, and competitors, (2) OxResearch, which covers significant economic and political developments from Oxford faculty; and (3) Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries.
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
Use the Markets page to view a "Market Barometer" for daily, weekly, monthly, and annual performance data for different sectors. You can also find industry reports and sector reports, updated quarterly.

Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings or see how your investments work together. Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues.
For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest.

When searching for case studies, use the advanced search tool and select "Case Study" as a Document Type. If this option is not available, try including it as a keyword or subject term in your search. e.g., case studies AND management

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1,000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications. ABI/Inform also provides case studies, industry reports, and market reports.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.

SAGE Research Methods
A resource for both writing and finding case studies, SAGE Research Methods provides instructional datasets, 1,100 peer-reviewed cases, books, articles, and other tools to help with the research process. Specific disciplines include Economics, Business & Management, and Marketing.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Access Country Reports from Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU) ViewsWire, Oxford Analytica Daily Brief Service, and Oxford Analytica Country Profiles, by clicking 'Browse' and then 'Country Reports.' Search for other resources, such as articles: Within an Advanced search, enter your country name in one search bar and change the drop-down menu to Location -- LOC. Enter additional key words or select other preferences to make your results more specific.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Be sure to check out the 'atlas' feature of this database (select from left side of the page), which is a partnership with the Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU), for maps, country briefing, economic reports and political reports for each country.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista Inc., provides relevant and recent statistics, market data, industry reports, studies, and research & analysis on over 60,000 topics, aggregated from over 18,000 sources, and categorized into 21 market sectors. International statistics and market data are available for over 36 countries. Easily incorporate charts or graphs into your report or presentation by downloading statistics to Powerpoint or Excel. Search by keyword.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the 5 volume Millennial edition, 2006. Provides data in electronic format useful for statistical analysis.

Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint Edge is the industry leader providing intelligent information to tax and accounting professionals—including expert research, guidance, technology, tools, learning, and news. Checkpoint is relied on by thousands of professionals to understand complex information, make informed decisions and use knowledge more efficiently. Access is limited to 35 simultaneous users.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.

Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper 1990-present.
Historical Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1996. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1851-2018.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2023.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.

A-Z Databases Recommended for Business/Economics Topics

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources: (1) Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, and competitors, (2) OxResearch, which covers significant economic and political developments from Oxford faculty; and (3) Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text database which publishes a wide range of scholarship including working papers from research institutes, occasional paper series from NGOS, policy briefs, case studies, conference proceedings and papers, course packs, book chapters and journal articles.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2023.
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings or see how your investments work together. Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint Edge is the industry leader providing intelligent information to tax and accounting professionals—including expert research, guidance, technology, tools, learning, and news. Checkpoint is relied on by thousands of professionals to understand complex information, make informed decisions and use knowledge more efficiently. Access is limited to 35 simultaneous users.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues.
For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.