Early & Elementary Education: Find Books

To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SU username and password:

EBSCO eBook Collection

Google Books searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text, and stored in its digital library database. Many items are completely full text, while some are partly full text to adhere to Copyright restrictions.
ABOUT GOOGLE BOOKS

HOME DELIVERY FOR ESHEC STUDENTS – You may borrow books from SU Libraries and the University System of Maryland Libraries, as well as libraries across the entire country through our Interlibrary Loan Service, and these books can be shipped to your home address!  

Items from SU Libraries: 

• Check in our online catalog SURF to determine that the item is available in the Guerrieri Academic Commons (GAC).

• It is very important that you DO NOT “Request” the book from the page on SURF though – Instead, you will need to use our ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Request Form to route your request to library staff for special attention by logging into your INTERLIBRARY LOAN ACCOUNT, choosing the 'Entire Book' request option, then manually entering the book title, author, and ISBN, and in the NOTES FIELD:
  •  Copy and paste the following bold text, "I am a distance student. Please ship the SU Library book to my home address."
  • Copy and paste the Library Call Number to speed up processing.  
• We will then ship it to your home address the next business day via UPS, after verifying your address. Please KEEP THE BOX and the enclosed UPS return shipping label, which you will use when you return the book to SU (you must pay the return shipping cost).  

Items from USM Libraries: 

• Check SURF to determine that the book is available through one of the University System of Maryland (USM) libraries. 

• Log in to SURF and request the book using the “Request from UM System Library.” When choosing the pick-up location, consider the following: 

• If you live close to one of the USM institutions, you can choose that location and your item will be sent there for you to pick it up. You will also need to return the item to that location.  
• If you do not live near a USM pick-up location, please select SU Guerrieri Academic Commons as your pick-up location. The book will be shipped to SU, and we will ship it to your home address the next business day via UPS, after verifying your address. You will need to return the item to SU with the UPS return label we will enclose.  

Items from non-USM libraries via Interlibrary loan: 

• Submit your request via your ILL account (again, make sure you note that you are a distance student; copy and paste the following bold text in the NOTES field: “I am a distance student. Please ship the book to my home address.”) 
• We will ship it to your home address the next business day via UPS and when you are done with the item, you will need to return it to SU with the UPS return label we will enclose.  

For all Items: 

• You may receive an email asking you to verify your shipping address. 

• Item(s) will be shipped the next business day with a return label via UPS. 

• Once you receive the item, DO NOT throw away the box; you are responsible for shipping the item back to Guerrieri Academic Commons using the SAME box and the return label. 

How long can I keep the books I borrow? 

Books from the SU Libraries’ collection have the same loan period that on-campus users receive. Item due dates follow this schedule: 

CHECK OUT DATE / RETURN DUE DATE
November 1 - March 31 / May 1
April 1 - June 30 / August 1
July 1 - October 31 / December 1

Notes to consider:
Non-circulating materials, such as reference books, cannot be borrowed by distance learning students. 

Regarding books from other libraries, the length of the loan period depends not only on the borrower status and type of material, but also on the lending library’s policies.  Each library has different loan and renewal policies.  

All books (including those in the SU collection and USM titles) are subject to recall, meaning they may need to be returned earlier if another patron requests them. If an item you have borrowed is recalled, you will receive an email about its change in status.  Please return it immediately. 

To ensure that you do not accrue overdue fines, factor in the shipping time and mail the items a few days before the due date. You are responsible for late fines or costs associated with damaged materials. 

For any questions, please contact Cassy Lewis:
EMAIL: illoans@salisbury.edu
PHONE: 410-546-2642

EXTRA TIDBIT: For a complete list of resources & services for distance students, visit the DISTANCE LIBRARY SERVICES Guide.
EXTRA TIDBIT: With a current SU Gull Card, you may actually walk into any of the USMAI member libraries and check out any circulating books!