Copyright: Copyright friendly resources

An online directory of academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 200+ publishers

A collection of digitized books and journals, many of which are freely accessible

Books in the public domain

Publishes over 290 open access peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health

An online directory of high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals

Publishes seven peer-reviewed open access journals across all areas of science and medicine

A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journals at the National Library of Medicine

An online collaborative encyclopedia providing global access to knowledge about biological life on Earth. All EOL content is licensed under Creative Commons (CC) licenses.

Letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and other resources from America's libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions

Digitized resources of Europe’s museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. Limit your search to "free re-use" or "limited re-use."

Prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and other free resources

The official records of the Smithsonian, personal papers, special collections, records of professional societies, and oral/video histories relating to the history of the Smithsonian. Invites personal, educational, and other non-commercial uses of its collections (see the specific terms of use at https://www.si.edu/Termsofuse)

Public photography archives

A search engine for free photos

Click on the Search Tools button and then select Usage Rights for allowed uses

Photos licensed by Creative Commons for public use

A growing collection of photographs, most of which have no known copyright restrictions

A large collection of photographs, most of which have no known copyright restrictions

Recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to concerts, to radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by the Archive's users

A list of web sites with Creative Commons-licensed music

Digital movies ranging from full-length films to news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts

Lets you find and post Creative Commons licensed videos

After typing your search query in the search box at the top of any YouTube page, click the Filters drop-down menu below the search box and select Creative Commons.

A collection of open educational content contributed by more than 200 higher education institutions & associated organizations worldwide

A collection of free online teaching and learning materials including shared lesson plans, activities, and interactive learning content