Industry Codes
Simplify your research and keep things consistent by FIRST defining your industry by selecting the industry code that classifies your business or service.
You could search by company within the databases and be on the lookout for the NAICS or SIC code. Or, you can search by a keyword that describes a particular product/service using the links below.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)From the United States Department of Commerce - U.S. Census Bureau website. Search for the NAICS code that classifies your industry.
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System SearchFrom the United States Department of Labor - Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) website. Search the 1987 SIC manual by code or keyword to find the SIC code that classifies your industry.
Find Trade Associations and Publications
Associations keep track of industry data for their members and may have valuable information on an industry that would not be found in standard business sources. Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) and ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) offer trade publications for some associations or organizations.
Aside from using the databases linked below, you can also use Google to find association websites and publications. Try using keywords such as [industry or product description] trade association. e.g., home inspection trade association. Once you find one, be sure to evaluate the website with a critical eye before using any information or data it provides. If it seems legitimate, look for pages that mention a newsletter or journal, member directories, industry outlooks/data, an "about us" summary, or other sections that would provide insight into the existing conditions of the industry. Keep in mind that not all associations will have this information publicly available (membership benefit).
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowGo to Advanced Search. Search by keyword or industry name/NAICS code. Under the search fields, select 'Trade Journals' as the Source Type. Continue to narrow your results as needed.
Industry Research
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012ISBN: 9781598848076This book is located in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Library. Industry Information is the subject Chapter 4 (p. 57-74); you may find this information helpful.
Find Industry Reports & More
To supplement company-specific information, get a better sense for the total market by researching the overall industry.
When locating industry reports, pay attention to the 1) publication date, and 2) geography (global, US, India, etc.).
Online Resources (for off-campus access, you will be prompted to login with your SU username and password - same as for Gullnet, MyClasses, etc.)
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowFor Industry Reports: Go to Advanced Search. After entering your search terms, use the options below to limit your Document Type to Industry Report.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowStart your search using the NAICS code for the industry, or some keywords relating to the industry. Narrow the publication or document type to Industry Profile, Industry Report, or Market Research.
- Statista This link opens in a new window--Select Industry Reports from the Reports tab, then click on "Show more industry reports." You can search for an industry by keyword or browse the available reports. These are limited the US, France, UK, and Germany.
--OR, click on Consumer Markets. Select a market then choose a country from the drop-down menu at the top of the following page. More countries exist here. - Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new windowCheck out the Markets tab. You can browse industry and market news, or scroll down to click on "View all industry analyses" to view all reports. Another option is to search directly for a company (using the search field at the top of the screen), then locate the Industry Analysis box on its page. This section will likely have more brief, yet up-to-date commentary.
--To get a different perspective, try using the Browse Research tab, then select an industry from the drop-down menu for "Industry Screens."
Print Resources (in the library)
Industry Surveys by Call Number: HC106.6 .S74Publication Date: July 2016 - PresentMost current 2 years kept in Reference Collection (1st floor). This series continues S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys (Feb. 2013 - Apr. 2016).
For older surveys...
- S&P Industry Surveys, Feb. 2013 - Apri. 2016Most current 2 years kept in Reference Collection (1st floor)
Older than 2 years: General Collection (3rd floor) - S&P Industry Surveys, 1981-2011General Collection (3rd floor)
Industry Ratios
RMA Annual Statement Studies by Call Number: HF5681.B2 R6"Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business. Annual publication kept in Reference Collection.- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios by Call Number: HF5681.R25 I53"Arranged by SIC code, this work includes financial data and important ratios from an aggregate number of establishments within an industry. Examination of this information establishes present and future norms from which a venture's performance can be judged." Annual publication kept in Reference Collection.
+Search Government Resources
- Overview of Economic Statistical Programs (U.S. Census Bureau)The U.S. Census Bureau conducts a number of statistical programs that can be especially useful for your business research needs. This webpage provides an overview of those programs or surveys, which can be used to pull data.
- Data.Census.govData.census.gov provides access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. This website makes data available from one centralized place so that users spend less time searching for data and content, and more time using it.