Industry codes & keyword descriptors
Start by defining your industry, this will enable you to make use of Industry Codes. Try searching by NAICS or SIC code. Or, you can search by a keyword that describes a particular product/service using the links below.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)From the United States Department of Commerce - U.S. Census Bureau website. Search for the NAICS code that classifies your industry.
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System SearchFrom the United States Department of Labor - Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) website. Search the 1987 SIC manual by code or keyword to find the SIC code that classifies your industry.
Industry Research
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012ISBN: 9781598848076This book is located in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Library. Industry Information is the subject of Chapter 4.
Find industry reports & more
Once you've identified your NAICS number and/or subject terminology, use it to find industry reports.
When locating industry reports, pay attention to the 1) publication date, and 2) geography (global, US, India, etc.).
Online Resources (for off-campus access, you will be prompted to login with your SU username and password - same as for Gullnet, MyClasses, etc.)
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Print Resources (in the library)
-
Industry Surveys by
Call Number: HC106.6 .S74Publication Date: July 2016 - PresentMost current 2 years kept in Reference Collection (1st floor). This series continues S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys (Feb. 2013 - Apr. 2016).
For older surveys...
-
S&P Industry Surveys, Feb. 2013 - Apri. 2016Most current 2 years kept in Reference Collection (1st floor)
Older than 2 years: General Collection (3rd floor) -
S&P Industry Surveys, 1981-2011General Collection (3rd floor)
Find Trade Associations and Publications
Associations keep track of industry data for their members and may have valuable information on an industry that would not be found in standard business sources. Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) and ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) offer trade publications for some associations or organizations.
Aside from using the databases linked below, you can also use Google to find association websites and publications. Try using keywords such as [industry or product description] trade association. e.g., home inspection trade association. Once you find one, be sure to evaluate the website with a critical eye before using any information or data it provides. If it seems legitimate, look for pages that mention a newsletter or journal, member directories, industry outlooks/data, an "about us" summary, or other sections that would provide insight into the existing conditions of the industry. Keep in mind that not all associations will have this information publicly available (membership benefit).