When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
News Sources
This is just one person's version of evaluating newspapers. Which particular titles are where is less important than how she approached this. Take a look at the axes. It is important to note that not only do we need to pay attention to the political bias, but also how complex the publication is. Something extremely simplistic or sensational can be just as misleading as a political bias.
Data
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Semi-scholarly Sources
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- SU Libraries Virtual News RackThis guide is a concise collection of all of the ways one can access news resources at SU Libraries. While some of them have newspaper in the title and are easy to locate, some are trade magazines, etc. and are a little harder to track down. This puts them all in one place.
- The AtlanticSearch "The Atlantic" from 1988-present in Academic Search Ultimate.
- Al Jazeera
Commercial news, Qatar-based. This link goes to their "World News" section. - The Guardian - International Edition
The Guardian provides free access to their US, UK, Australian, and International Editions of their newspaper. You can toggle through the various editions in the top right corner.
Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
Not Available in a Database?
We have two options if something is not available in full text in a database. Please be aware that with many libraries, not just our own, dealing with the coronavirus, articles may be delayed or impossible for us to get right now. That doesn't mean you shouldn't put a request in, but know that there is only so much SU Libraries can do if other libraries are not loaning materials due to staffing issues.
Check Availability in SU Catalog:
If it says this then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library. Put in a request for ILL and note that we may have a print copy. Someone will attempt to track it down and scan a copy for you. Again, please remember we are also short staffed, so a response for this may still take a few days, and we are limiting requests to 2 requests and 30 pages per day.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
means that someone in SU Libraries will do their best to locate a copy of your article from another library. Many libraries are not loaning materials right now, but if we can find a copy for you, you will get an email that a digital copy is available for you.