Library Guides: HONR 212: Find articles

+In the research process: ARTICLES

1. Explore (casual web searching)
2. Background (library catalog: books)
3. Scholarly conversations (library databases: articles)
4. Support arguments (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (librarians & Writing Center)

Is it primary or secondary research?

Tips on identifying primary and secondary research articles

Exporting article citations from a database to Easybib

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Databases for Health Sciences

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
This database includes nearly 600 scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health. 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles. Includes full text from titles such as: Creative Nursing; Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Journal of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner; & Clinical Pharmacology. About 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted only.
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO)
The MEDLINE database provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and in 70 foreign countries. MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning, and health care services administration.
Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
The Nursing and Allied Health Source database provides access to the full text of articles in over 400 premier nursing journals and related publications. Scholarly research published in nursing and related fields is included. Time span is 1988 to present.
UpToDate
UpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 5,100 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. These authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. This database is useful to practitioners and students in clinical training.
Web of Science
The ISI Web of Science database provides seamless access to the Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. This database provides access to full-text of some journals and links for others. Web of Science provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Cited reference searches help users navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover information relevant to their research.
TRIP database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.

As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Reviews provide evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. The Cochrane Library consists of seven databases and is used by a broad range of people interested in Evidence-Based Health Care, including consumers, clinicians, policy-makers, researchers, educators, students and others.
MicroMedex

The MicroMedex database is an evidence-based clinical reference which provides drug information and answers to clinical questions.

HONR 212: Find articles

+In the research process: ARTICLES

Is it primary or secondary research?

Exporting article citations from a database to Easybib

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Databases for Health Sciences

SFX

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

Google Scholar

eJournals Quick Search

Starts with ContainsExact