Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- From the library homepage click on the Find Books, Articles, and More
- Click on A-Z Database list
- Click on Social Work from the Subject pull-down menu and access the database of your choice
** Note that only a couple of databases as best bets show up. Since Social Work is interdisciplinary subject, you should also check out other related databases.
- Social Work Abstracts* - The main database in your field --"Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems."
- PsycINFO* - "contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from over 2,000 periodicals in over 25 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, physiology, pharmacology, sociology, education, nursing, linguistics, anthropology, business and law."
- ERIC* - Education-related topics.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition* - might be useful for health policy-related topics.
- Social Sciences Abstracts* - "provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
Related Databases for Social Work
Descriptions of databases for research in nursing and related fields.
CINAHL Plus with full text (EBSCO)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) covers over 1600 professional journals in nursing and allied health. It also includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
This database provides access to journals, healthcare books and book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice. CINAHL covers the fields of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Time span is from 1982 to present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
This database includes nearly 600 scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health. 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles. Includes full text from titles such as: Creative Nursing; Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Journal of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner; & Clinical Pharmacology. About 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted only.
Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
The Nursing and Allied Health Source database provides access to the full text of articles in over 400 premier nursing journals and related publications. Scholarly research published in nursing and related fields is included. Time span is 1988 to present.
Science Direct provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. This database includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Coverage includes topics related to health sciences and nursing. Full text begins in 1995 or later.
Web of Science
The ISI Web of Science database provides seamless access to the Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. This database provides access to full-text of some journals and links for others. Web of Science provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Cited reference searches help users navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover information relevant to their research.