Library Guides: Target Market/Demographics: Determining Size

Determining Size

Resources for determining size within a specific geographic/market area.

How big is the target market? How much growth is expected?

Select census.gov Resources

Census Business Builder
Are you looking for data to help you start or grow a business or understand the business landscape for a region? The Census Business Builder is a suite of services that provides selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
more...less...
This suite currently includes:
◾Small Business Edition
◾Regional Analyst Edition

In the future, this suite may include other tailored editions
County Business Patterns (Census.gov)
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets
Data.Census.gov
Data.census.gov provides access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. This website makes data available from one centralized place so that users spend less time searching for data and content, and more time using it.
Population Projects (Census.gov)
Population projections are estimates of the population for future dates. They are typically based on an estimated population consistent with the most recent decennial census and are produced using the cohort-component method. Projections illustrate possible courses of population change based on assumptions about future births, deaths, net international migration, and domestic migration.
U.S. Census Bureau

Select Maryland Resources

Here are some free online resources specific to Maryland and Salisbury, Maryland:

Maryland - Department of Business & Economic Development - Facts & Stats - Rankings; Major Employers; Demographics; Employment; Geography; Quality of Life; Economy; Taxes; and, Snapshot

Maryland - Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation - Labor force statistics; Industry information; Occupation projections and outlooks; Wage data; Who's Working in Maryland; and, more

Maryland Economic Development Directory - “A directory of websites with significant information for site seekers -- site selection consultants, real estate departments, business people. Locations for industrial/commercial sites, buildings, offices and retail locations.”

Maryland State Data Center (Maryland Department of Planning) - "The SDC [State Data Center] monitors development trends, analyzes social, economic and other characteristics and prepares population, housing, employment, labor force, and income projections, which provide the baseline for planning for growth and development in the State." Access: 2010 Census Data; American Community Survey; Estimates for population, migration, and housing and residential development; Projections to 2040; Jobs and Income data; Maps/GIS; and, Census of Agriculture for Maryland/Economic Census

Salisbury, MD Area Chamber of Commerce

Salisbury University - The Office of University Analysis, Reporting & Assessment - For college student population demographics in Salisbury

Salisbury-Wicomico Economic Development (SWED) - Helps develop the economy and promotes small business development for Wicomico County, MD. Provides data on business, community, demographics, real estate, agriculture, and more.