Library Guides: Theatre: Shakespeare Resources

General Shakespeare Resources

Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.
The Folger Shakespeare Library
The Folger Shakespeare Library is an independent research library on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C., United States. It has the world's largest collection of the printed works of William Shakespeare, and is a primary repository for rare materials from the early modern period in Britain and Europe (description from Wikipedia).

Shakespeare at SU Libraries

In the third floor stacks, you can find Shakespeare items around the PR2753 call range.

Pro Tip: This SURF search is already limited to the print and electronic Shakespeare resources available at SU Libraries, if you want to browse or use this as a starting place for your own searches.

There are also several videos available-- peruse the results list here.

First Folios Compared This link opens in a new window
To mark the 400th anniversary of the publication of Mr. William Shakespeare's Comedies, Histories & Tragedies (otherwise known as the First Folio), this website brings together dozens of digitized copies of this literary masterpiece. For the first time in history, you will be able to compare them, side by side, from the comfort of your own home.
The publication of the First Folio in 1623 brought together 36 of Shakespeare's plays, 18 of which have never been published before and would likely have been lost forever. Over the last 400 years, the surviving First Folios have found shelter with institutions and individuals across the globe. This site brings together just over 20% of all known surviving copies, for you to examine and explore.

As well as the stories told through the plays themselves, each copy offers up another narrative, depicting their unique journeys through history. Some are in prime condition, while others have received annotations, tears, or even lost pages. Many also bear printed differences – changes made by the printers as they produced each copy. Whatever your interest, the opportunity to compare copies of this historic work is here.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over 4,000 journals and series. Also indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.