Recommended Art History Databases
Now is the time to be more specific with your searching. Articles tend to cover very specific or niche topics, and are also published more quickly than books, meaning the information is typically more current than the general information you can gather from books.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from around the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers video titles spanning the a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
General Humanities Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from around the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for public libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals back to 1975, provides nearly 500 full text reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and a 592,000 photo Image Collection.
-
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
-
MAS Fulltext Ultra -- School Edition This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines, provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and a 510,000 photo Image Collection.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a great resource for articles. It searches across many disciplines and sources. Link your Google Scholar to your library account to get access to articles that might be behind a paywall. Here's how:
- Click on the three bars in the top left corner to access your Google Scholar menu.
- Click on "Settings."
- Navigate to "Library links" in your list of settings.
- Type in Salisbury University and check the boxes that come up.
- Click save. Your Google Scholar is now linked to Salisbury University's library resources.