Skip to Main Content

FLM FYS01 Storytelling in Cinema

Approaches to finding articles

Broad-to-narrow search strategy: For news or research articles, start with multi-disciplinary databases and move on to subject specific databases. 

Part of my research topic on Thelma and Louise focuses on psychological aspects spousal abuse survivors and societal guilt. I did search for film analyses that view this movie through a psychology lens, but there aren't many relevant ones. It wil be up to me to make the connection between pscyhology sources and the film itself in my essay's narrative.

We can start with multidisciplinary databases like Academic Search Ultimate (link below).

Ebsco databases allows users to search several databases simultaneously by accessing Academic Search Ultimate --Choose databases--> checkmark all. . 

Keywords: spousal abuse survivors society guilt

1. abuse survivors =  26,000+

2. Add women = 8,905

3. Use the OR statements as you type to increase results: 15,784

4. Similarly, add shame or guilt or self-blame or self-criticism or stigma = 950

5. Limit to Peer Reviewed= 835

6. Consider adjusting publication date.

Tip:

If the article is not available in full text, use the Find It button to search all of our databases. 

If there is no full text, try Google Scholar. 

If it's paywalled in Google Scholar, request it through InterLibrary Loan!

Article databases

Library databases:
A-Z list and by subject

Your topic may concern subject areas such as education, health, history, psychology, etc. You may consider searching within databases that contain articles that were published in subject-specific journals.

A Google Scholar hack

t is nicely straightforward to use Google Scholar just by itself if you want to do a basic search across several search engine/databases that do not otherwise interact with each other.  To make sure that you are accessing all of the resources that we pay for, however, you need to make sure that you have added Salisbury University as our library before you begin searching.  Doing this is extremely easy - just follow the steps below!

 

1.). Navigate your way to Google Scholar and look for the three-bar "stack" in the upper left hand corner.  This is where you will find the Settings option.  

google scholar home page with arrow pointing towards settings link       google scholar settings option

2.  Under Settings, choose the Library links option.  This will open up a new window with an empty box in it.  In that box, type in Salisbury University, and then hit the 'search' button.  

 

all salisbury checkboxes selected for library links option in google scholar

3.  Once you have done that, two additional checkbox options will appear below the search box - both listing options for Salisbury University.  Check them both off, then hit Save.  

Now you are good to go!  You can start searching for whatever it is that you are looking for, and your search results will be displayed in a "regular" Google-like way.  But this time, you will see any full-text links that are available through SU Libraries linked to the right of the article title, and clicking on that right-hand link will take you to the SU login/SU-provided full text access!

google scholar search results with full-text library links on right side of screen circled

 Using the connectivity between an SU search engine/database (in this example, MLA Int. Bib. Database) and Google Scholar is extremely simple!  

Searching in the MLA International Bibliography is very similar to searching in any other database or search engine that you might have used before.  Below, you will see a series of screenshots and step by step explanations showing how to search through MLA IB. Reading through the steps and looking at the screenshots will help you to independently work your way through a search, see how Google Scholar is integrated to best provide you with full-text results when our paid-for resources are not able to do so, and how to fully understand your results!

Note: Our library databases are especially bad at finding critical essays related to all three texts. However, they are terrific at finding research articles that you might use as sources to support or corroborate points you may make in a thesis. 

After you type your keywords into the search box, hit the Search button to search through the database and look for journal articles related to your topic.  Some of the journal articles will have a very visible link that you can use to access the full-text of the article.  Others will not have this visible full-text link, and as such you'll need to click on the FindIt button instead to have the computer system look through all 150+ other databases that we subscribe to in order to see if that article is available through one of those instead.  The good news is that this process only takes a few seconds!

When you click on the FindIt button, you will be taken to a new tab/window that looks like the screen shot below.  Many times this new tab/window will provide you with immediate full text access to the article through a different one of our databases.  If this happens, this is great!  Just click on the full-text link and you will be taken to the article so that you can read/save/export it.  

Hit a paywall? NEVER PAY

Occassionally, a Find It link will relay you to Google Scholar and a pay wall, which asks you to pay for access to the source. Never pay! 

No matter what source you are unable to access, you can always request it for free through SU Libraries InterLibrary Loan service. 

If you ever hit this paywall, simply go back to the FindIt button window, and click on the Inter-Library Loan link.  Doing so will tell us that you need a copy of the article - and we'll use our online system to connect up with another library who does have access to the article, and we'll work to get you a free, electronic copy of the article as quickly as we can!