PRO TIP: Filter Results to Peer-Reviewed!
Did you know in many databases as well as SURF you can filter the results to your search by many areas, including articles that have been peer-reviewed? This can be a great way to limit the results you find when you need to look for exclusively academic sources.
Just be sure you have the box checked for peer-reviewed articles!
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
Search by subject or alphabetical.
Use SURF to Find Articles
In addition to searching in databases, you can also search for articles directly through SURF. You can use the filters to the left of your results list to sort by information pertinent to your search.
Did you know you can also search for journal names in SURF? Make sure you have changed your search to "All" or just "Journals" if you're looking for a specific title!
Selected Databases for Articles & Reference
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from around the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
Evaluating Sources
A way to remember what to look for: CRAAP
The CRAAP test is just one method for determining what kind of quality a resource is. It's useful for all resources, but especially so for anything you find outside of academic sources.
Currency
- When was the information published or posted?
- Has the information been revised or updated?
- Does your topic require current information or will older sources work as well?
- Are the links functional?
Relevancy
- Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
- Who is the intended audience?
- Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or too advanced for your needs)?
- Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
- Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?
Authority
- Who is the author, publisher, source, and/or sponsor?
- What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
- Is the author qualified to write on this topic?
- Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
- Are the links functional?
Accuracy
- Where does the information come from?
- Is the information supported by evidence?
- Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
- Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
- Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
- Are there spelling, grammar, or typographical errors?
Purpose
- What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade?
- Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
- Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
- Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
- Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?
This is adapted from "Applying the CRAAP Test" by the Meriam Library at California State University, Chico.
Differences between scholarly and popular sources
You will need to find scholarly articles to serve as a solid base for any arguments you make in your paper. Databases have all kinds of articles in them, not just peer reviewed sources. Use the criteria below to help you figure out if a particular article is scholarly or not.
Note that a peer reviewed journal is only one piece of confirming an article has been peer-reviewed. Even scholarly journals have opinion pieces, book reviews, product reviews, etc.
Author
Scholarly: Can always tell who wrote it; the author is an expert in the field with available credentials.
Popular: Name or credentials may not be provided; has little to no expertise on the subject.
Audience
Scholarly: Written in jargon for other professionals in the field to understand.
Popular: Written in non-technical language anyone can understand.
Editor
Scholarly: Reviewed by a board of experts (peer review).
Popular: Reviewed not by experts in the field but by a staff editor.
Citations
Scholarly: Sources are referenced with in-text citations and a bibliography.
Popular: References to outside sources are rare and do not include a bilbiography.
Length
Scholarly: Longer articles with in-depth analysis, generally at least five pages long.
Popular: Shorter articles with a broader topic focus.
Format
Scholarly: Clear sections like an abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, and bibliography. May include illustrations that directly support the text like a table or graph.
Popular: Does not follow any particular structure. Images may be glossy color photographs or include advertisements.