Open Educational Resources

This book was written for students with no formal prior knowledge of of college level chemistry, biology, or physiology. This book was written for those "who are not majoring in nutrition, but want to learn about the fundamental aspects of nutrition and how it applies to their own lives."

This textbook explores Wellness as the state of being in good physical and mental health. "Because mental health and physical health are linked, problems in one area can impact the other. At the same time, improving your physical health can also benefit your mental health, and vice versa. It is important to make healthy choices for both your physical and mental well-being."

"Home health services are those which are provided within the comforts of the home setting to help people avoid hospitalization or skilled nursing facility placement while they recover from illness, injury, or disability. Home health care may also be provided to people who suffer from chronic illnesses, those who have cognitive or physical disabilities or those who have been diagnosed with a terminal illness. Home Health Aide and Personal Care Aide are two of the fastest growing occupations. This text will provide you with the background necessary to begin working toward a career in the home care field."

This flexbook developed by Brian Lindshield at Kansas State University includes 13 chapters and links to articles, videos and animations for the course FNDH 400 Food, Nutrition, Dietetics and Health.

HEAL is a "collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library."

2,078 peer-reviewed open access health sciences books.

Filtered Results from MERLOT for healthcare resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for healthcare resources.

Online textbook.

From the College of DuPage and written by Jason Florin and Julie Trytek, this eBook "is organized so that each chapter focuses on a different theme related to addiction." Each chapter also includes subsections that include additional readings, videos, articles, activities, discussion questions, and quizzes.

1,918 peer-reviewed open access books in the field of medicine.

"FreeBooks4Doctors goal is to freely promote online medical books/literature to doctors and those in the medical professions, so that these medical books/materials/resources can be widely available and easily accessible to find and download anywhere in the world."

Filtered results from MERLOT for nursing resources.

Filtered results for nursing education resources.

Open access textbooks for nursing.

Filtered results from OER Commons for nursing resources.

Filtered results from the Open Textbook Library for medical resources.

A curated list of OER from the GW School of Nursing.

Textbooks and virtual simulations.

"Digital + Print Open RN Open Educational Resources (OER) and FlexEd digital courseware for College Nursing programs are aligned with NCLEX learning objectives."

Filtered results from OER Commons for pharmacology.

115 peer-reviewed open access books about pharmacological studies.

Filtered results from MERLOT for social work resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Social Work resources.

A curated list of open textbooks from Open Social Work.

From the University of Utah, the Knowledge Weavers Project Archive houses resources such as Animations, Interactive Cases, Image Banks and Collections, Tutorials, and Tools and Templates.

Explore photos from the NIH many of which use creative commons licensing.

This OER activity provides "detailed descriptions of human systems and human physiology including system models for identification and labeling."

This OER activity is a "Power Point show that reviews the anatomy and physiology of the motor control system under normal and pathological conditions in a quiz show format. Includes lesions questions and patient cases."

A multidisciplinary public access image database for use in medical education.

Open interactive demonstrations about medicine.

Slides, ecourse, webinar, and supplimental materials from the CDC about Public Health.

"Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages."

Collection of learning objects for nursing courses.

"Through OPENPediatrics, healthcare professionals can access peer-reviewed content, including accredited and non-accredited courses, expert lectures and demonstrations, interactive device simulators, protocols and medical calculators. Verified users can also form and join groups, share digital resources, and engage in online discussions of key aspects of pediatric care."

Sharing community for adapting and creating OER.

Filtered results from OER Commons for conflict management resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for conflict management resources.

"This textbook is designed for students of first- and second-year college composition courses. Through both creative and traditional activities, readers are encouraged to explore a variety of rhetorical situations to become more critical agents of reading, writing, speaking, and listening in all facets of their lives. Straightforward and readable instruction sections introduce key vocabulary, concepts, and strategies. Three culminating assignments (Descriptive Personal Narrative; Text-Wrestling Analysis; Persuasive Research Essay) give students a chance to show their learning while also practicing rhetorical awareness techniques for future writing situations."

"This open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills. This text includes over 40 interactive H5P activities created by Deb Nielsen."

Filtered search of FlatWorld for English resources.

Filtered search of MERLOT for English resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for English/Language Arts resources.

Several titles available that have gone through the exact same peer review process as printed books. Any book that carries The Ohio State University Press imprint—no matter what medium is being used—has been approved by the Editorial Board after a thorough vetting process.

Open book from Plymouth State University created by undergraduate students and recent alums and edited by Dr. Robin DeRosa.

"This writer’s reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student needs to successfully compose college-level work, including the basics of composition, grammar, and research. It is broken down into easy-to-tackle sections, while not overloading students with more information than they need. Great for any beginning writing students or as reference for advanced students!"

"This is a collection of cumulative units of study for conventional errors common in student writing. It's flexible, functional, and zeroes in problems typically seen in writing of all types, from the eternal "there/they're/their" struggle to correct colon use. Units are organized from most simple to most challenging."

"A textbook focusing on writing in the workplace, with an emphasis on audience analysis, writing for specific situations, document design, research processes, and visual aids."

From George Mason University, all 154 of Shakespeare's Sonnets.

Complete text of Shakespeare's five poems: Lover's Complaint (1609), Passionate Pilgrim (1598), Phoenix and the Turtle (1601), Rape of Lucrece (1594), and Venus and Adonis (1593).

"Open TC is a freely accessible online textbook for technical communication, technical writing, workplace writing, and other related courses."

Repository of open access English textbooks from Colorado State University.

"A book series containing peer-reviewed collections of essays—all composed by teachers for students—with each volume freely available for download under a Creative Commons license. Writing Spaces aims to build a library of quality open access textbooks for the writing classroom as an alternative to costly textbooks."

Filtered results from OER Commons for Environmental Science resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Environmental Studies resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Ethnic Studies resources.

Filtered Results from MERLOT for African American or Black Studies resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Asian or Asian American Studies resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Chicana and Latina Studies resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Chicano and Latino Studies resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Native American Studies resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Film, Video, and Electronic Arts resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Film and Music Production resources.

This collection of freely available movies online are divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama, Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock, Westerns, Martial Arts Movies, Silent Films, Documentaries, and Animation.

"Over the last 17 years, [Films for Action has] curated over 1,000 free documentaries and 4,000 short films... spanning 34 topics related to changing the world."

By John Reich, Exploring Movie Construction & Production is a textbook that "contains eight chapters of the major areas of film construction and production. The discussion covers theme, genre, narrative structure, character portrayal, story, plot, directing style, cinematography, and editing. Important terminology is defined and types of analysis are discussed and demonstrated. "

From the Open Textbook Library, "this text is a comprehensive introduction to the vital subject of American government and politics."

Filtered results from MERLOT for American Studies resources.

"The content of this textbook has been developed and arranged to provide a logical progression from the fundamental principles of institutional design at the founding, to avenues of political participation, to thorough coverage of the political structures that constitute American government."

Online textbook in two volumes, Volume I is American history prior to 1877 and Volume II American history after 1877.

Hosted by HathiTrust Cornell University offers primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

"These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
The order of documents is chronological wherever possible."

From FlatWorld Knowledge a collection of open history textbooks.

Filtered results from MERLOT for History resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Anthropology resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Anthropology resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for History resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for U.S. History resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for World History resources.

Textbook from OpenStax "designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender."

"OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. We have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication."

Filtered results from MERLOT for Humanities resources.

"OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation."

Filtered results from OER Commons for Arts and Humanities resources.

From the British Library, "Discovering Literature is a free educational resource that provides unprecedented access to the Library’s literary and historical collections. Aimed at A level students, undergraduates and the general public, the site uses manuscript and printed sources to shed light on the historical, political and cultural contexts in which key literary works were written. Users can explore high-resolution digitised images; articles written by scholars, poets, novelists and journalists; short documentary films; and teachers' notes."

A variety of lesson plans and materials created for the University of Minnesota's CLAC program.

From MIT browse all of Shakespeare's works categorized by comedy, history, tragedy, and poetry (including sonnets).

Filtered results from the Directory of Open Access Books for language resources.

Filtered results from the Directory of Open Access Books for literature and literacy studies resources.

From the University of Michigan a collection of open books and texts from the 18th century.

Sydney Waterlow's book about "the life and works of Percy Bysshe Shelley, who is regarded as one of the finest lyric poets of the English language. Not merely a biography of events, this is an analysis of the age in which Shelley lived his almost 30 years (1792-1822), the character of the young man, and the messages embodied in Shelley's poems."

A collection of titles in the public domain.

Free public domain audio books.

Filtered results from MERLOT for World Languages resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for languages resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for literature resources.

"Open Culture scours the web for the best educational media. We find the free courses and audio books you need, the language lessons & educational videos you want, and plenty of enlightenment in between."

Free audio language lessons.

This open text is "a brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business. The concepts are presented in a streamlined manner, and cover the key concepts necessary to establish a strong foundation in the subject. The textbook follows a traditional approach to the study of business law. Each chapter contains learning objectives, explanatory narrative and concepts, references for further reading, and end-of-chapter questions."

"The Indigo Book 2.0 is a free, Creative Commons-dedicated implementation of the uniform system of citation commonly used in United States legal documents."

Computational exploration of the law.

First published in 1910 Black's Law Dictionary is available in the public domain.

Filtered results from the Directory of Open Access Books for Music resources.

"The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of over 3000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920."

"Online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship." NOTE while the items on this page are available freely for scholarly use, other uses may require permissions and/or credit.

Browse public domain texts about music.

Browse public domain sheet music from Project Gutenberg.

This open book by Danielle Fosler-Lussier "Introduces a variety of concepts related to music's travels—with or without its makers—including colonialism, migration, diaspora, mediation, propaganda, copyright, and hybridity. The case studies represent a variety of musical genres and styles, Western and non-Western, concert music, traditional music, and popular music."

This open text is "a natively-online open educational resource intended to serve as the primary text and workbook for undergraduate music theory curricula. OMT2 provides not only the material for a complete traditional core undergraduate music theory sequence (fundamentals, diatonic harmony, chromatic harmony, form, 20th-century techniques), but also several other units for instructors who have diversified their curriculum, such as jazz, popular music, rhythm, counterpoint, and orchestration. This version also introduces a complete workbook of assignments."

Interactive music demonstrations from Wolfram.

Filtered results from Directory of Open Access Books for Philosophy resources.

Written in 1912, The Problems of Philosophy serves as an introduction to philosophy. This version of the public domain title is from Feedbooks and is a DRM-free ePub.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Philosophy resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Religious Studies resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Philosophy resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Philosophy and Religious Studies resources.

From Open Textbook this is an introductory text by Matthew Van Cleave of Lansing Community College.

"As of Summer 2023, [the SEP] has nearly 1800 entries online. From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite)."

VideoLectures.net is "an award-winning free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science."

"The C-SPAN Video Library is an archive of all programming that has aired on C-SPAN since 1987. Type into the search bar at the top of any page on C-SPAN.org to search for programs, dates, people and events to watch, clip and share."

This public domain work is available as a DRM-free .ePub from Feedbooks. It includes the following five essays: Political Ideals; Capitalism and the Wage System; Pitfalls in Socialism; Individual Liberty and Public Control; National Independence and Internationalism.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Political Science resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Political Science resources.

The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database contains import and export statistics since 1962 of close to 200 countries or areas.

"This introductory text has been created from a combination of original content and materials compiled and adapted from a number of open text publications, including Introduction to Psychology – 1st Canadian Edition (Stangor & Wallinga, 2014), the Noba Project, and Research Methods in Psychology – 3rd American Edition (Price, Jhangiani, Chiang, Leighton, & Cuttler, 2017). This version of the text includes a Key Terms list for each chapter, an expanded glossary, and H5P chapter self-tests."

By Martha Lally and Suzanne Valentine-French, this textbook offers an introduction to lifespan development from the psychological perspective.

"A comprehensive textbook for research methods classes. A peer-reviewed inter-institutional project."

Written by Laura Overstreet, this text examines how people change physically from early development through aging and death, examing cognitive change and how concerns, psychological states, and social relationships are influenced by age.

"Psychology is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe."

Filtered results from the Directory of Open Access Books for psychology resources.

Filtered results from IntechOpen for Psychology resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Psychology resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Psychology resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Social Sciences resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Social Sciences resources.

Filtered results from the Open Textbook Library for Social Sciences texts.

Filtered results from Wolfram Demonstrations Project for Social Sciences demos.

From OpenStax, this text "text includes comprehensive coverage of core concepts, discussions and data relevant to a diverse audience, and features that draw learners into the discipline in powerful and personal ways. Overall, Introduction to Sociology 3e aims to center the course and discipline as crucial elements for understanding relationships, society, and civic engagement; the authors seek to lay the foundation for students to apply what they learn throughout their lives and careers."

Filtered results from the Directory of Open Access Books for Sociology textbooks.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Sociology resources.

Filtered results from MERLOT for Criminal Justice resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Sociology resources.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Criminal Justice resources.

American Variety Stage is "a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future."

Filtered results from the Directory of Open Access Books for Performance Art textbooks.

From the Library of Congress, this presentation "includes items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, photographs, posters, playbills, programs, and playscripts, including productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and Power, a topical drama of the period. Selected administrative documents from the project are also available."

98% of the materials in the Media History Digital Library are in the public domain with the remaining 2% permitted for MHDL use. Please refer to the Rights and Reuse page before incorporating these materials in a class.

"From the University of Florida College of Fine Arts, Charlie Mitchell and distinguished colleagues from across America present an introductory text for theatre and theoretical production. This book seeks to give insight into the people and processes that create theater."

From Pacific University Press, An Introduction to Technical Theatre is "intended as a resource for both secondary and post-secondary theatre courses, this text provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices... The text’s modular format is also intended to assist teachers approach the subject at their own pace and structure, a necessity for those who may regularly rearrange their syllabi around productions and space scheduling."

One Act Plays that are available for use from the Public Domain.

Shakespeare's play listed by genre.

Since 1997 this website has been making it easier for actors to find monologues without having to search the entire play.

From UC Berkeley this website provides resources for teachers and students interested in staging a play.

Free textbook for students who wish to do accent work.

Filtered results from MERLOT of resources for Women and Gender Studies.

Filtered results from OER Commons for Women and Gender Studies resources.

By Miliann Kang, Donovan Lessard, Laura Heston, and Sonny Nordmarken, this text, "introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research."

By Kyle Morgan and Meg Rodriguez this text, " is a peer-reviewed chronological survey of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book beautifully reveals the heroic people and key events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement. The book includes personal narratives to capture the lived experience from each era, as well as details of essential organizations, texts, and court cases that defined LGBTQ activism and advocacy."

This text by Eileen Hunt Botting "argues that Mary Wollstonecraft and John Stuart Mill are the two primary architects of the modern theory of women’s rights as human rights. It only through addressing women’s rights, Botting argues, that the idea of human rights was given universal scope and application. Botting describes the development of the idea of women’s human rights beginning with the work of Wollstonecraft and Mill, and gives an account of their reception in both western and nonwestern contexts. Her goal is to strip liberal feminism of its Eurocentric bias and offer the theory that remains as a resource for thinking about women’s human rights globally."

By Erika Goerling and Emerson Wolfe, this text is divided into two sections. Part 1 "Reflections and Explorations in Human Sexuality" provides a broad overview of sexuality and part 2, "Professional and Clinical Topics in Human Sexuality" examines sexuality through a more scientific lens.

This textbook by Deborah P. Amory, Sean G. Massey, Jennifer Miller, and Allison P. Brown employs "an intersectional analysis, [highlighting] how sexuality and gender are simultaneously experienced and constructed through other structures of inequality and privilege, such as race and class. The text supports multiple learning styles by integrating visual elements, multimedia resources, discussion and project prompts, and resources for further research throughout the textbook."

"Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts." (from Publisher)

"Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy." (from the Publisher)

"Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs." (from Publisher)

From OpenOregon, "this book focuses on putting those topics into an appropriate context for students who are not biology majors."

From OpenOregon, "this book focuses on putting those topics into an appropriate context for students who are not biology majors."

From Michigan State, "CLUE was designed to help students attain a confident, competent, and coherent understanding of basic chemistry, in particular of the chemistry associated with organisms and their origins."

"Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. " (from the publisher)

"Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association. This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives." (from the publisher)

From Kwantlan Polytechnic Institute, Organic Chemistry I is "an open textbook that is suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook. Besides the fundamental discussions of organic acids-bases, stereochemistry, IR and NMR, this book also includes the topics of substitution and elimination reactions, radical substitution of alkanes, preparation and reactions of alkenes and alkynes."

A collection of Open Books (either originally published Open or older versions that have been opened that may still be relevant) from tech publisher, O'Reilly.

"Think Python is an introduction to Python for people who have never programmed before – or for people who have tried and had a hard time." The third edition is in Jupytr Notebook allows the reader to run the code and complete the exercises within the text of the book.

"Data Structures and Information Retrieval in Python, is an introduction to data structures organized around a motivating example: building a search engine. The elements of the search engine are the Crawler, which downloads web pages and follows links to other pages, the Indexer, which builds a map from each word to the pages where it appears, and the Retriever, which looks up search terms and finds pages that maximize relevance and quality. The index is stored in Redis, which is a NoSQL database that provides data structures like sets, lists, and hashmaps. The book presents each data structure first in Python, then in Redis, which should help readers see which features are essential and which are implementation details." (from the publisher)

"Think Java is an introduction to computer science and programming intended
for readers with little or no experience. We start with the most basic concepts
and are careful to define all terms when they are first used. The book presents
each new idea in a logical progression. Larger topics, like control flow statements and object-oriented programming, are divided into smaller examples
and introduced over the course of several chapters." (from the publisher)

InTech Open has 15 books on Geography, GIS, and Spatial Analysis.

A list of curated open text books from Open Geography Education.

81 peer-reviewed open access books in Geology and Geophysics from InTech Open.

From the National Academy of Sciences this collection of Earth Sciences books are available to read online for free.

From BCcampus's Open Collection this textbook "is a comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. " The geographic focus in Western Canada.

"[This text] is designed to give you a comprehensive introduction to Geology at no or very nominal cost. It contains both written and graphic text material, intra-text links to other internal material which may aid in understanding topics and concepts, intra-text links to the appendices and glossary for tables and definitions of words, and extra-text links to videos and web material that clarifies and augments topics and concepts. " (from the publisher)

This open textbook from Open Geology is intended for use in undergraduate courses in Earth history.

Open textbook on Mineralology from Open Geology.

Open textbook Petrology from Open Geology.

This approved list of Open Math Textbooks from the American Institute of Mathematics is organized by courses ranging from pre-calculus to upper division analysis and algebra.

"Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly-defined learning objectives and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way." (from the publisher)

"Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs." (from the publisher)

"Intermediate Algebra 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. The material is presented as a sequence of clear steps, building on concepts presented in prealgebra and elementary algebra courses." (from the publisher)

"College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned." (from the publisher)

"Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration." (from the publisher)

"Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates." (from the publisher)

"Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations." (from the publisher)

"College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems." (from the publisher)

"Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves." (from the publisher)

"Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism." (from the publisher)

"Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics." (from the publisher)

182 peer-reviewed open access physics books from InTech Open.

eBooks from the National Academy of Science, National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Medicine.

Digital Collections from the National Library of Medicine

A digital collection in the OER Commons.

From the National Institute of Health, DAVID is the Database for Annotation, Visualization and Integrated Discovery provides functional annotation tools to understand the biological meaning behind large lists of genes.

Wolfram Demonstrations Project is an open-code resource that uses dynamic computation to illuminate concepts in science, technology, mathematics, art, finance and a remarkable range of other fields.

The world’s leading high-quality, comprehensive and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information.