Open Educational Resources

This courseware was designed for HE250: Personal Health at Portland Community College. This course is divided into 17 topic modules covering a wide range of personal and public health topics. Each module includes a slideshow presentation, instructor and student resources, a topic study guide, in-class activity, and discussion questions.

This 9 unit courseware includes a textbook as well as faculty and student resources.

This courseware explores the connection between personal choices and health across multiple dimensions of wellness. The course has a focus on personalized behavior change strategies to advance health.

Nearly 1000 free Open Learn courses across 9 different subject areas produced by The Open University.

SkillsCommons’ mission is to accelerate the democratization of education for all through open educational services and resources enabling individuals, communities, educational institutions, organizations, and businesses to prepare people for successful employment in the 21st Century.

"Open materials and images from more than a hundred courses developed by the faculty of JHSPH, the world’s foremost institution of public health education and research. OCW provides learning opportunities and teaching resources to all who pursue improvement of health and prevention of disease around the world. Courses and materials on OCW include: primary health care; adolescent health; child health; economic evaluation; injuries; health behavior change; infectious diseases; nutrition; reproductive & sexual health; mental health; health information technology; elder health; environmental health; air pollution, industrial hygiene; health systems & policy; disaster management; health services research; population; refugee health care; cost-effectiveness analysis in health care; urban health and much more."

"NIH's e-learning courses give users a thorough and up-to-date understanding of sex and gender influences on health and disease and NIH requirements on factoring sex as a biological variable into research designs. Users will be able to apply this knowledge when designing and conducting research or interpreting evidence for clinical practice. Offerings include Bench to Bedside: Integrating Sex and Gender to Improve Human Health (CME credits available), Sex as a Biological Variable: A Primer, Introduction: Sex- and Gender-Related Differences in Health, the SABV Primer: Train the Trainer, and Introduction to Sex and Gender: Core Concepts for Health-Related Research."

Funded by The U.S. Department of Labor's Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT), this commons provides open access syllabi, courseware, and online course modules.

Open courseware and resources from the University of Michigan's School of Nursing.

Curated list of open courseware from Masters of Social Work.

Course on Robert Maddux's conflict model with an interactive exercise.

"This lesson is on understanding the issue of conflict and conflict resolution through dialogue."

"As an open access companion resource to the Writing Spaces textbook series, the Activities & Assignments Archive offers pedagogical resources grounded in current practice and scholarship, organized by topic. Each document presents a pedagogical activity or assignment, curated by teacher-scholars for writing students, and reviewed by the Writing Spaces editorial team."

Open courseware from Yale University for Professor John Wargo's course EVST 255.

Open courseware from Penn State, this course module "an interdisciplinary, comparative analysis of the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement. Students will compare/contrast popular narratives about BLM with stated goals of movement participants. They will also consider the place of BLM in larger historical narratives. Students will be encouraged to move beyond initial assumptions, and instead ask the questions that humanist scholars ask of such texts and events."

From MIT Open Courseware, this course "provides an overview of Asian American history and its relevance for contemporary issues. It covers the first wave of Asian immigration in the 19th century, the rise of anti-Asian movements, the experiences of Asian Americans during WWII, the emergence of the Asian American movement in the 1960s, and the new wave of post–1965 Asian immigration. The class examines the role these experiences played in the formation of Asian American ethnicity. The course addresses key societal issues such as racial stereotyping, media racism, affirmative action, the glass ceiling, the 'model minority' syndrome, and anti-Asian harassment or violence."

From the University of California Irvine "this course examines the role of Mexican American and other Latino communities in shaping state and national politics in the United States. After we review the political history and political organizational strategies of Mexican Americans, we will examine their contemporary modes of political organization; analyze public policy issues that concern them; evaluate the successes and failures of Mexican American empowerment strategies; and measure the electoral impact of Mexican American votes."

"Cover[s] the history of the major American political parties, the powers of the president, and the electoral college."

11 units from 1491 to present day.

Courseware from the National History Education Clearinghouse.

From the University of Minnesota, "The Green German Project is a collection of open-access teaching materials and curricular resources related to sustainability and environmental topics. Developed for use by teachers, students, and curriculum designers, its intended audience is German language and culture courses at the intermediate–advanced level. Users are invited to adapt the materials to their own program needs."

A variety of lesson plans and materials created for the University of Minnesota's CLAC program.

Teaching materials and courseware for language learning.

Free courses produced by The Open University which offers nearly 1000 free courses across 9 different subject areas.

"Online Library of over 70,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired."