Library Databases
To get you access to these database search engines, the SU LIbraries pay approximately half a million dollars every year. Take advantage of these resources! Other people don't have access to them and they contain millions of quality scientific articles that are exactly what you need to work on your research projects.
We have close to 200 databases! Depending on the specifics of your project and topic, I can recommend additional places to search and search strategies related to your research question.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
- Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for over 5,000 biomedical journals.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowElectronic journals in the biological and medical sciences.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides a broad range of topics on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations.
Free Online Article Databases
- CORECORE is the world’s largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals. Many full-text PDFs are available online, but you can also request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
- PubAgFree online database from the National Library of Agriculture. Includes some full-text coverage, but most entries are citation-only. Request citation-only articles through Interlibrary Loan.
- MDPIOpen Access publisher of several hundred journals, largely in the natural and biomedical sciences.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsSearch by article title or journal. Massive Open Access aggregator for many fields, including biology and other sciences.
Request Materials We Don't Own
- Interlibrary LoanNeed an article that we don't have at SU? Order it for free through Interlibrary Loan! Give yourself 2-4 days for articles and several weeks for books.
- Request Books from other USMAI SchoolsLogin with your GullNet credentials to access books from other University of Maryland schools! Books usually arrive in about a week, much faster than traditional ILL.
