HONR 211: World of Fairy Tales

This collection of classic tales also includes some of the less well-known fables, morality tales and comic stories, and an exploration of the origins of the stories and their literary evolution.

Thirty stories about ghosts, sprites and fairies. The tales include, Tom Connors And The Dead Girl, The Farmer Of Tralee And The Fairy Cows, Daniel Crowley And The Ghosts, The Fairies Of Rahonain And Elizabeth Shea, Tom Foley's Ghost, Murderous Ghosts, The Blood-Drawing Ghost, The Dead Mother, and The Ghost Of Sneem.

Princes, princesses, kings, and queens wear beautiful animal skins, live in kraals, and meet fearful ogres in these ten fairy tales from the Swazi, Shangani, and 'Msuto peoples of South Africa.

Dragons, ghosts, ogres, tigers, demonic foxes, supernatural spouses and, of course, people with all their human frailties are among the characters that revealed perceptions of life and notions about power, money, justice, love, and interpersonal relations that, through the ages, have become ingrained in the Korean psyche. It includes fables, anecdotes, fairy tales, and tales of the bizarre. Some are charming, some gruesome, and some humorous.

The finest and most authentic collection of Icelandic folk tales to be published in the English language.

Twenty-one Swedish fairy tales accompanied by John Bauer's paintings and drawings that originally illustrated them.

Sixty-seven folktales and anecdotes recorded and translated for those seeking an introduction to the Turkish tradition of oral literature.

A collection of fifteen Turkish fairy tales in which sultans, turbaned prayer-leaders, enchanted royalty, and magic carpets reflect the folk heritage of the Near East.

The Annotated Brothers Grimm celebrates the richness and dramatic power of the legendary fables in the most spectacular and unusual Grimm volume in decades. Containing forty stories in new translations by Maria Tatar--including "Little Red Riding Hood," "Cinderella," "Snow White," and "Rapunzel"--the book also features 150 illustrations, many of them in color, by legendary painters such as George Cruikshank and Arthur Rackham; hundreds of annotations that explore the historical origins, cultural complexities, and psychological effects of these tales; and a biographical essay on the lives of Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. Perhaps most noteworthy is Tatar's decision to include tales that were previously excised, including a few bawdy stories and others that were removed after the Grimms learned that parents were reading the book to their children--stories about cannibalism in times of famine and stories in which children die at the end.

A collection of thirty-seven traditional and adapted folk and fairy tales, original tales, true narratives, and ghost stories, told at the annual National Storytelling Festival from 1973 to 1990. Includes information about the storytellers, the tales, and the background of the festival.

A collection of fairy tales from India.