Useful Library Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowElectronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAn unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowFull-text access provided to over 80 chemistry magazines and journals with an archive dating back to 1879.
- IEEE Open Access This link opens in a new windowThis database serves as a portal to open access content within the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.
All Library Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
- Full A-Z Database ListAll databases SU Libraries subscribe to with descriptions and content scope. Browse by subject using the left drop-down menu.
Classmate Research Tips
- Read through the introduction to decide if it's something you want to to continue reading
- Look for the important stuff, not small bits of information
- Use multiple sources to discuss one topic
- Do the research in advance
- Get it done early and often, before you even start writing, to save stress down the road
- Highlight and take notes on your sources that you print out
- Try many different databases, even if you think they may not apply
- Use filters when searching in the databases
- Use all the fields and filter options - it narrows everything down well
- Use Academic Search Ultimate and JSTOR
- Make searches short and specific
- Use the SU Library to find a good database
- Use Google Scholar then search the article of your choosing on SU Libraries
- Practice makes perfect
Get Articles We Don't Own
- Interlibrary LoanNeed to get an article that we don't have at SU? Request it through Interlibrary Loan! Most articles are fast and free, opening up the amount of research articles you're able to get.
