Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals
- Popular Magazines Vs. Scholarly JournalsThis is a chart that goes through the differences between a journal article and a popular magazine article.
How can I access databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and you can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus, you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Databases for Public Health Majors
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Large range of consumer health information/topics. Full text of nearly 300 periodicals such as: Harvard Health Letter, Prevention, Tufts, Johns Hopkins, Vegetarian Times, Women's health Weekly. Also includes a wide range of full text health related pamphlets and reference books, patient education fact sheets from sources such as: People's Medical Society, A.D.A.M., A.A.R.P and Society Publications
- Health Source: Nursing Academic This link opens in a new windowNearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains articles on a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Most articles are available full text.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of nearly 550 full-text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for over 5,000 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowcontains mostly full-text coverage for sports and sports medicine journals covering areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a good starting point for your research. It searches across many disciplines and sources. Link your Google Scholar to your library account to ensure access to articles that may otherwise be behind a paywall. Follow these instructions and the screenshot below:
- Click on the three bars in the top left corner to access your Google Scholar menu.
- Click on "Settings."
- Navigate to "Library links" in your list of settings.
- Type in Salisbury University and check the boxes that come up.
- Click save. Your Google Scholar is now linked to Salisbury University's library resources.