Library Guides: GEOG 640: Find News

Finds Newspapers (Current and Historic)

Lots of popular-interest stories from older newspapers have current scientific significance if you are looking at issues such as changes in land-use over time, city planning issues, population spread, etc.

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries.
Historical Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1996. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1851-2018.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
Historical Washington Post This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Washington Post. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1877-2006.
Maryland Historical Newspapers: Maryland Edition 1923-Recent This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper collection provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and in-depth coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Coverage: The Daily Times (1964-Recent), The Evening Times (1923-1927), The Salisbury Times (1927-1964)