Library Guides: DSCI 470: Research Methods in Data Science: Datasets

General Government Resources

Data.gov
Data.gov is a federal open government data site managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration. It collects information on the total number of datasets and dataset collections. Data is separated into categories, some of which include, business, climate, consumers, education, health, ocean, and public safety, among others.
Library of Congress Datasets
This is a guide that has both links to dataset repositories and some resources.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data. It updates fairly frequently.
Maryland Open Data Portal
Maryland-specific datasets that are free to download and use.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the 5 volume Millennial edition, 2006. Provides data in electronic format useful for statistical analysis.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
The official source of U.S. merchandise trade data which offers current and historical U.S. import and export statistics.

Register of Research Data Repositories (re3data)
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It is one of the largest.
Current Population Survey
This resource is from census.gov, and is USA focused.
Election Statistics
From the US House of Representatives, some datasets can be found here about both the current and historical elections.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
UCI maintains 622 datasets for the machine learning community. They are free to use.
Kaggle
A collection of over 50,000 public datasets and 400,000 Jupyter notebooks for your use.
Hugging Face
Open source machine learning datasets and models.

Census of Governments
Also from census.gov, the Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment.
Tax Statistics
Datasets from the IRS relating to taxes.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
A variety of databases from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.
International Labor Organization (ILOSTAT)
ILOSTAT has a wealth of information on labour statistics, from free access to almost 100 million data points to extensive statistical guidance.

National Climatic Data Center
Daily Weather Maps (2003-present)
From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Older maps are available on another page.

NCES Surveys and Programs
The National Center for Education Statistics collects and reports information on the academic performance of the nation's students, as well as adult literacy.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The National Center for Health Statistics is a part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and have datasets ready for use.
World Health Organization Data
This page has many tools, insights, and other resources on WHO's data, but it also has datasets for download.

Equity in Athletics Data Analysis
The Equity in Athletics Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data. The data are drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database. This database consists of athletics data that are submitted annually as required by the Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act (EADA), via a Web-based data collection, by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.
Lahman's Baseball Database
The updated version of the database contains complete batting and pitching statistics from 1871 to 2020, plus fielding statistics, standings, team stats, managerial records, post-season data, and more.
SportsStatistics.com
Compiled list of datasets regarding different sports.
College Athletic Departments Financial Database
From Sportico, this is an interactive, real-time database that tracks the official balance sheets of public university athletic departments. These are visualizations, not datasets themselves.

Author last name, first initial / Rights Holder. (Year.) Title of repository [Description of form]. Publisher. URL.

FiveThirtyEight. (2020.) Bob Ross [Dataset and Python code]. GitHub. https://github.com/fivethirtyeight/data/tree/master/bob-ross

In-text: (FiveThirtyEight, 2020)