COMM 434 Burns: Home

Use this link to search the entire Finding Aid Portal.

Use this link to get to the Sports Information Finding Aid.

Use this link to see which topics we may have photographs for. The majority of this collection is not digitally accessible. You will need to find time to come in to the reading room and look through photographs that you may want scanned. Please allow 1-2 days for the photos to get scanned.

TIPS for using the Finding Aid Portal

• Before hitting Enter: Click "Search Options" and make sure Collection Description AND Collection Inventory are both checked.
• Use simple search terms and keywords. Do not enter full questions, it will not search like Google.
• Write down which collection you are using. The collection identifier is at the top of the finding aid and will often start with SUA-.
• When requesting materials, please include the following in your note:
  • date and approximate time you plan to come look at the collection
  • which boxes you want pulled

Use this link to search the entirety of the digitized materials from the University Archives.

DUE TO TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES, INTERNET ARCHIVE IS EXPERIENCING INTERMITTENT DOWNTIME. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO LOOK AT ANYTHING THAT MAY HAVE BEEN ONLINE, WE HAVE THE ORIGINALS THAT YOU CAN LOOK TRHOUGH IN PERSON. PLEASE REACH OUT TO JEN WITH ANY ISSUES OR QUESTIONS.

TIPS for using Internet Archive

• Use "Search Text Contents" to search within materials. "Search Metadata" only searches through titles and dates.
• Use filters on the left side of the screen to narrow search.
• Use quotation marks around a name of phrase to look for that specific grouping. Searching "John Smith" will return any mention of John Smith. Searching John Smith will return any mention of John, Smith, or John Smith.
• If individuals have nicknames, think about searching their full name (for example: James instead of Jim) or just their last name.
• To download a PDF: The right side of the screen has download options. Click PDF.
• Clear your highlighted search text using the small X at the bottom of the viewer (above the full screen button).
• Use the magnifying glass on the left side to search text within an item.

TIPS for using Flickr

To search in Flickr: Click on Photostream then use the magnifying glass below the Nabb Center banner. This will search within our collections. Using the search bar at the top will search all of Flickr.

Email Jen or Ian the link or identifying number to receive a high-resolution scan of the image. Screenshots or direct downloads will be blurry.

Most of the sports related film is for football or lacrosse, but there are some other videos like an Athletics Promo from 1992 and a Fall Sports preview from 2002.