Study Tips and Tools
- Gen Chem Cheat SheetGas law formulas, energy conversions, molarity, units, and common reactions and compounds.
- Pearson General Chemistry TutoringIncludes step-by-step guidance, video lessons, worksheets, and practice problems for Gen Chem topics.
iOS Apps
- ReactionFlash
The free ReactionFlash app is a great way to learn named reactions, understand their mechanisms and view examples published in peer-reviewed literature or patents.The app covers over 1100 named chemistry reactions. - Periodic Table: Chemistry 2024
Free application for iPhone which displays the entire Periodic Table and the table of solubility.
Get Help
- Chemistry Help CenterSupport for chemistry classes in Henson 150.
- Math EmporiumFree tutoring available for:
Math 105, 130, 135, 140, 144, 150, 155, 160, 201, 202, 210, 215, 216 and 230
Computer Science 117, 120, 220 and 250 - Center for Student AchievementSuccess coaching, supplemental instruction, tutoring, and success strategies.
- SU Writing CenterMeet with trained peer consultants to work on your papers, projects, and lab reports at any stage of the writing process.
- Student Affairs at SalisburyMore help from Salisbury University offices such as Career Services, the Counseling Center, Campus Safety, and TRIO.
Tools for Drawing Chemical Structures
- SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new windowRegister for an account and use SciFinder to draw and download chemical structures.You can also use this database to search for articles.
- ChemSketch FreewareTop software download for drawing chemical structures. Available for free for academic and educational use. Software only available on Windows.
- PubChem SketcherSimple sketcher from the National Library of Medicine.
- ChemSpiderFrom the Royal Society of Chemistry. Draw and search chemical structure.
- Biovia DrawFree software download for students after you register for an account.
You can also use non-chemistry tools for rough mockups, such as Microsoft Word or Adobe Illustrator. There are other more advanced drawing software online, often requiring a paid license.
Library Research Databases
Curious to research more about chemistry? Check out these library databases to find peer-reviewed articles and current research.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowThe key database for chemists and chemistry researchers. Full-text access to over 80 chemistry journals and magazines with an archive dating back to 1879.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- C&EN Global Enterprise This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full-text of Chemical & Engineering News, along with enhanced content covering science and technology, business and industry, and government and policy.
Android Apps
- ReactionFlashThe free ReactionFlash app is a great way to learn named reactions, understand their mechanisms and view examples published in peer-reviewed literature or patents.The app covers over 1100 named chemistry reactions.
- Periodic Table
Every element includes: atomic properties such as electronegativity and oxidation states; physical properties such as boiling and melting points, heat of vaporization; brief description of the element; list of isotopes; and an animated electron shell presentation.
