Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Astrobiology Articles in ScienceDirect
This tutorial will walk you through every step involved in finding primary journal articles in our Science Direct database that are focused on your Astrobiology topic. You can apply these same searching principles to most of our other library databases, as well as search engines and web tools!
Journal Article Search Engines
Our search engine databases are not your normal "Google-like" search engines! Our library search engines provide powerful access to scientific, peer-reviewed, journals that are not typically found through regular web searching. These library search engines are the places to go for full-text scientific papers.
Scientific journals are usually available only through purchase. They are locked behind pay walls - a secure system that only allows users who have paid for access to read the full-text of their articles. The library pays to access these articles so you don't have to.
The vast majority of scientific articles in our collection are primary research articles. However, we also have secondary sources (meta-analyses and reviews), as well as other types of journal content. Always double check what you're looking at, and if you have any questions about your sources please contact me!
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection this resource includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts, and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts databases, with full-text titles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
, Computer Science
, Earth Science
, GIS Management
, Integrated Science
, Urban & Regional Planning