+In the research process: FIND ARTICLES
1. Explore topic basics (Keywords)
2. Current scientific scholarly conversations (Find Articles)
3. Support your argument (Cite Sources)
4. Drafts & revisions (Research & Writing Help)
Library Search Engines/Databases
Think about your own research topic and select some of the most important terms from that topic (aka "keywords") to search for a primary journal article. Use the article search engines below.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- Biological Science This link opens in a new windowPart of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
- Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
- Proceedings of the Natural Academy of SciencesResearch reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.