Library Guides: BIOL 101: Fundamentals of Biology: Find Articles

Library Databases

While your Searching Basics Tutorial focused on ScienceDirect and GoogleScholar, you can use these same ideas in other library databases to find peer-reviewed research articles from top scientists and experts.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
Plant Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.