Library Guides: ELED 350 Literature for Children: Find Books

Finding Books

Print Books:
Finding books is fairly easy. There are two primary collections at your disposal in two different buildings on the SU campus:

Curriculum Resource Center (CRC) Collections in Conway Hall 226 - we have around 19,000 titles in separate collections; Caldecott, Newbery, Easy, General (Fiction & Non-Fiction), Historical Fiction, International, Foreign Language, Maryland, Environmental, Outdoor Education Leadrship, and Big Books. Books are arranged by Dewey Classification.
- This began as a donated collection, primarily gifted by Seidel Education faculty, but is now THE primary directed collection for children's books on campus.

Juvenile Collection on the third floor in the main library in the Guerrieri Academic Commons (GAC) - we have around 13,000 titles located at the beginning of the collections on the third floor. Books are arranged by Library of Congress Classification.
- This collection began with the first small library in Holloway Hall when it was the only building on campus. Consequently, it is an older collection containing historically significant children's literature from different eras. New and award winning books are added every year.

Either collection may be browsed in person or the contents may be searched by using the online Book Search box (below right).

Online Books:
There are two database one may search for full text books as well, as seen in the Recommended Databases box (below left).

Recommended Databases

To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SU username and password:

TeachingBooks.net
EBSCO eBook Collection

Digitized Collections

Discovering Children's Book (DCB) - The British Library Discovering Children’s Books explores the history and rich variety of children’s literature, drawing on inspiring material from medieval fables to contemporary picture books. The site is aimed at primary school children, teachers and lifelong learners and features thoughtful drafts, scribbled notebooks, sketchbooks, story boards and dummy books, revealing the creative processes behind some of the best-loved children’s literature. Discovering Children’s Books also provides access to some of the earliest printed works created for a young readership and an array of movable, miniature, noisy and toy books, propaganda stories, comics, poems and fairy tales. The project unites children’s literature collections from four major cultural institutions: the British Library, Seven Stories The National Centre for Children's Books, Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford and the V&A.
Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature 130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. Contains 6,000+ fully digitized books.
International Children's Digital Library The mission of the ICDL is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge. The Foundation pursues its vision by building a digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world and supporting communities of children and adults in exploring and using this literature through innovative technology designed in close partnership with children for children.

Call Number Locator

CALL NUMBER LOCATOR
The call number on any library item is like a home address. You may copy and paste it from the library catalog into the locator web page to see where it lives in the library.

Recommended Guides

Library of Congress Call Numbers
An overview of the subject areas as they are assigned in LC.
Understanding LOC Call Numbers
Understand the call number you find on the spine of a book as a unique number given to each item in the library.

Eastern Shore Higher Education Center (ESHEC) Students

FOR ESHEC STUDENTS - You may borrow books from SU Libraries (including the Bond CRC), and from any of the other University System of Maryland & Affiliated Institution (USMAI) library locations around the state.

There are two ways to borrow books:

1. Request that SU Libraries books be mailed directly to your home address. We pay for shipping to you and provide a return label. You must pay for shipping back to us. For this option, please use the steps located HERE.

2. Request that books (SU Libraries or USMAI Library) be sent to the Chesapeake College Learning Resource Center for you to pick up. Completely free to you. For this option, use the following steps:

After finding a book in our online catalog, simply place a book request for it through our INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL) system and we will ship it to the Chesapeake College Learning Resource Center for you.

DIRECTIONS:
Follow the ILL link above (you must login using your SU username/password), then...
Open an 'Entire Book' form, then...
Enter the book title, author, and ISBN, then...
Copy and paste the following bold text in the NOTES field: I am a distance student. Please ship the book to the Chesapeake College Learning Resource Center.

You will receive an email when the book has shipped to the Learning Resource Center, where you may pick it up within 1-2 business days and return it when you are finished.

The checkout period is 28 business days and you may renew books through your LIBRARY ACCOUNT LOGIN.

For any questions, please contact Cassy Lewis:
EMAIL: illoans@salisbury.edu
PHONE: 410-546-2642

EXTRA TIDBIT: For a complete list of resources & services for distance students, visit the DISTANCE LIBRARY SERVICES Guide.
EXTRA TIDBIT: With a current SU Gull Card, you may actually walk into any of the USMAI member libraries and check out any circulating books!

Book Search

Google Books Search

On occasion, older books and those not under copyright restrictions can be found full-text on the Web.