Library Guides: How To Find...: Company, Industry, & Business

Company Rankings

America's Largest Private Companies (Forbes)
The companies on this list includes firms with annual revenue greater than $2 billion and either too few shareholders to be required to file financial statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission or have shares whose ownership is restricted to some group, such as employees or family members.
Fortune 500 2014
Fortune 500 was created in 1955 and is an annual list that ranks America's largest corporations, both public and private, by revenue.
Global 2000 - The World's Biggest Public Companies (Forbes)
Based on sales, profits, assets and market value.
Inc. 5000
The Inc. 5,000 is an expansion of the Inc. 500, which was introduced in 1982. The Inc. 5,000 offers a comprehensive look at the 5000 fastest growing private companies in America.

Industry Reports

Get a sense for the total market by researching industry reports. When locating industry reports, pay attention to the 1) publication date, and 2) geography (global, US, India, etc.).

IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides comprehensive reports on over 1300 U.S. industries, offering insights into market size, growth trends, and competitive benchmarking.
ABI/INFORM Global
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.
Business Source Complete
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content
Statista
Provides data and infographics on over 60,000 topics. Add "industry" or "market" to your search terms to locate info such as market size, consumer insights, sales, key players, and trends.
Value Line Investment Survey
Provides year-ahead and three-to-five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects, as well as full-page individual stock reports and industry reviews.

Print Library Resources

S&P Industry Surveys
Print surveys from 1973-present are located at call number HC106.6 .S74 in in the 3rd floor stacks.

Analyzes over 50 major North American industries. Each industry survey contains information on: Current Environment; Industry Profile; Industry Trends; How the Industry Operates; Key Industry Ratio and Statistics; Glossary; Industry References (periodicals, trade associations, and government agencies); and, Comparative Company Analysis. Published quarterly.

Ratings

Standard & Poor's Research Insight - Access in Perdue labs only

"A published ranking, based on detailed financial analysis of corporate/organizational financial history, specifically as it relates to the ability to meet debt obligations. The highest rating is usually AAA, and the lowest is D."

To run a Company Highlights Report which will include S&P Credit Ratings:

Click on the Company Highlights Report button (4th button on the left toolbar).
When the run assistant box appears, type in the ticker symbol of the company in the 'Companies' text box & click on the 'OK' button at the bottom.
S&P ratings will be listed on the left in the center of the report.
To locate explanations for the ratings, use the pull-down menu under 'Help' at the top of the screen and choose 'Data and Reference'. When the indexes appear, click on the 'Find' tab and enter the term 'rating'. When the results list appears, choose 'Short-term Issuer Credit Rating' and 'Long-term Issuer Credit Rating'. Note: 1-3 ratings are assigned per company.

Stocks and Investments

Morningstar
Provides up-to-date stock and fund information to research current or prospective holdings and see how investments work together. Data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
Value Line Investment Survey
Provides year-ahead and three-to-five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects, as well as full-page individual stock reports and industry reviews.

Yahoo! Finance
Search by ticker symbol in the search box under the home tab and then click 'Get Quote.' Historical prices are available.
Wall Street Journal Market Data
Daily changes of stocks, bonds, currencies, crypto, and commodities.
BigCharts.com - Historical Stock Quote
Defaults to Microsoft Corp., MSFT. Type in the symbol and historical date to view a historical security's closing price.

Taxes

Checkpoint Edge
Provides information to tax and accounting professionals including state and federal tax documents; secondary journal analysis; estate planning; pensions and benefits; and international taxation.

Access is limited to 35 simultaneous users.