Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 510 Quintana Wulf

Finding Journals

Quick, easy, and a bit uncertain

Search the title of the article. This can, however, present you with a mish mash of results. AND, if the article is in a print journal here in the library, WorldCat Discovery can't see it. 

 

Slower, involved, but certain

Step one: search the journal title in WorldCat Discovery. 

Step two: limit to journals in the facets on the left side of your results screen.

Step three: if we have the journal, it displays as SU Libraries Owns. Click into the record to see either electronic or print holdings. 

Scenarios


SU Libraries may only have the journal in print, and the journal is not available in databases. Print journals are all located on the 3rd Floor of the GAC, and they are arranged in alphabetical order by title. 

Owned by SU Libraries in print example: https://salisbury.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1605314


SU Libraries may only have the journal electronically. Thousands of journals are indexed by over 100 of our library databases. Many of these databases offer "Full Text," while some only offer article citations. Some article citations have abstracts, while others do not. 

Owned by SU Libraries electronically example: https://salisbury.on.worldcat.org/oclc/50709793


SU Libraries have the journal in print and electronically. Sometimes the Volumes and issues are duplicates, so you have your choice to use either format. However, libraries do make an effort to keep older back-issues, and continue coverage in databases. For example, we may own print copies of Shakespeare Quarterly from the very first volume through1997, and in a database, we have SQ from 1998 - present. 

Owned by SU Libraries in both formats, but electronic supersedes print collection: https://salisbury.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1605955


SU Libraries may not own or provide access to the journal at all. However, you should be able to look up any journal in the world in WorldCat Discovery to find official descriptive information about the journal, such as an ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) as well as the identity of the publisher. 

One not owned by SU Libraries. Locate it in the catalog. Grab the ISSN number. Search Google for the official publication website. Corroborate ISSN https://www.tandfonline.com/action/journalInformation?journalCode=ramj20

 Browse issues. Request articles through Interlibrary Loan.