Collection Development Handbook: Graduate Collections Assessment

Please consider the following talking points when discussing the Libraries' level
of graduate research support  with your graduate program faculty or program coordinators

• Preferred format for library resources 
  • Ask your faculty about their preferred format for library resources (e.g, print, electronic, both, or other non-print format)
    • Note: Format preference may be particularly important for fully or partially online degree programs. It could also vary depending on the type of materials (i.e. books, journals, or reference materials). Therefore, all types of relevant materials should be considered.
• Current journal subscriptions in relevant subject areas
  • Provide a list of our current journals available in print and online, including their date ranges
  • Ask whether any seminal publications are missing from this list
    • Note: these activities can provide you and your faculty with a better idea of the Libraries' current collection so that you and your faculty can better assess our level of graduate research support
• Current reference resources in relevant subject areas (if applicable)
  • ​Provide a list of our current reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in the call number range(s) applicable to the graduate program
  • Ask whether any seminal resources are missing from this list
    • Note: these activities can provide you and your faculty with a better idea of the Libraries' current collection so that you and your faculty can better assess our level of graduate research support
• Shelf lists of our current print holdings within relevant call number ranges
  • Request from Head of Collection Management a shelf lists of our current holdings, including their publication dates, within the call number ranges relevant to the graduate program
  • Review this list with the faculty
  • Ask whether any seminal publications are missing from this list
    • Note: this activity can provide you and your faculty with a better idea of the currency of our collection, as well as the subject focus (based on LCC call numbers)

Guidelines, Best Practices

Articles & Chapters